聚焦在IFPUG公告欄

史蒂夫·諾伊恩多夫(Steve Neuendorf), CFPS
會員, IFPUG通信和營銷委員會

很長一段時間, IFPUG公告板是功能點和許多其他與測量相關的主題的“熱點”. 但, 由於很多原因, 這些都不是對該主題不感興趣的地方, 舊的公告板, 它的所有內容都消失了. 即使新公告牌在舊公告牌消失後不久就在那裡, 新的公告板一直在緩慢地恢復其原始訂戶數量和活動水平. 填補空白, 在各種社交媒體網站上彈出了幾個功能點和度量值組, 最明顯的是LinkedIn, 而且在Facebook和Twitter上, 我會想像在其他地方我不知道.

仍然, “官方” IFPUG功能點BB是IFPUG網站上的功能點. 該功能規模標準委員會 (FSSC), 以前是計數實踐委員會 (CPC), 仍會監控問題並根據需要提供答案, 儘管由於在全球志願者小組中進行討論所花費的時間可能會有些滯後. 和, 作為適當的, 這些討論可以為將來的iTips和uTips提供想法. 非功能性上漿標準委員會 (NFSSC), 以及其他IFPUG委員會, 可能還希望加入監控並提供答案.

現在比以前更容易使用和使用公告欄 (菜單鏈接現在顯示“公告板”). 創建帳戶的說明很清楚並且有據可查. 我們真正需要的是去那裡的令人信服的理由, 喜歡有趣且及時的話題. 如果您有機會參觀舊公告欄, 你可能還記得, 甚至參加, 許多熱烈的討論. 對於大多數這些,我們最終得到一個“官方”答案, 並且經常可以看到這些討論在哪些方面影響了後續的CPM版本. 但, 偶爾會有一些問題尚未解決和無法回答. 我們所有人都有機會看到我們的“常見”做法有多大變化, 全部由同一標准定義, 真的很常見.

獲取內容的最佳方法是在收藏夾中創建指向討論區的鏈接. 它應該看起來像這樣: ifpug.mymemberfuse.com. 我在Chrome和IE中都擁有它, 他們似乎記得我登錄並直接進入“我的儀錶盤”的所有詳細信息.

  • 我的儀表板: 這是“命令中心”,您可以在其中查看活動並瀏覽整個站點. 對於大多數活動, 喜歡新的討論和評論, 描述有點含糊,“史蒂夫回答了關於 . . .“, 但, 您可以隨時轉到“我的討論”,查看您所做的所有活動, 和您小組中的其他討論(小號), 和推薦的討論, 即使是其他人群.
  • 我的群組會向您顯示您已加入的群組, 然後從那裡單擊這些組將為您提供活動報告, 包括發生活動的討論主題. 這是非常有用的起點,可以趕上並保持最新進展(小號).

在“我的”菜單下方, 有三個有用的內容區域:

  • 首先是組織鏈接. 這將帶您到IFPUG的當前成員及其所在組織的列表。. 您可以對此清單進行特定和常規搜索.
  • 接下來是小組. 您可以查看屬於哪些組以及哪些組可用. 從這裡可以輕鬆確定您感興趣的組, 加入這些團體, 參加. (我沒有看到如何創建群組).
  • 最後,您可以從此子菜單訪問資源區域. 資源是您可能會發現有用的文件和鏈接. 從主要區域,您可以訪問針對每個人的資源. 討論組也有可用資源, 您可以通過在討論組中選擇資源來訪問這些資源.

當該回家的時候, 單擊主頁鏈接將帶您返回歡迎頁面, 你可以從那裡去.

任何有興趣討論功能點分析相關主題的人, 和任何其他人, 鼓勵在這個新的公告板上開始一個線程. 請盡量保持繼續主題的主題. 您可以隨時開始另一個線程以脫離原始主題, 並且可以更輕鬆地跟踪主題並理解討論何時得出結論. 請保持你的討論禮貌, 並尊重他人及其意見.

公告板最近添加了討論的線程視圖選項. 這可以在討論的網頁上根據用戶進行切換. 如果使用線程視圖, 對討論中特定帖子的回復將直接縮進該帖子下方. 在經典視圖中, 他們只會看到按時間排序的討論帖 (新的先來) 他們需要切換到線程視圖以查看按回复順序排列的回复.

當前的公告板需要一種對討論進行分類的方法, 例如, FP 問題; 認證問題; SNAP 問題, 等等, 使它們易於管理. 如果您有關於如何做到最好的想法, 請在公告板上開始一個新線程.

謝謝,祝你好運,

史蒂夫

Spotlight On the IFPUG Bulletin Board

By Steve Neuendorf, CFPS
Member, IFPUG Communications and Marketing Committee

For a very long time, the IFPUG Bulletin Board was the “hot center” for all things Function Point and many other measurement related topics. But, for a lot of reasons, none of which are a lack of interest in the subject, the old bulletin board, and all of its content went away. Even though the new Bulletin Board was there to take its place shortly after the old one was gone, the new bulletin board has only been slowly working its way back to its original number of subscribers and levels of activity. Filling the gap, several Function Point and Measurement groups have popped up on various social media sites, most notably LinkedIn, but also on Facebook and Twitter, and I would imagine in other places I am not aware of.

Still, the “official” IFPUG Function Point BB is the one on the IFPUG site. The Functional Sizing Standards Committee (FSSC), formerly Counting Practices Committee (CPC), still monitors the questions and provides answers as necessary, although there may be a time lag due to the time it takes to discuss in a global volunteer group.  And, as appropriate, these discussions can provide ideas for future iTips and uTips. The Non-Functional Sizing Standards Committee (NFSSC), as well as other IFPUG Committees, may also want to join the monitoring and providing of answers.

It is now easier than ever to get to and use the bulletin board (the menu link now says “Bulletin Board”).  The instructions for creating an account are clear and well documented. What we really need are compelling reasons to go there, like interesting and timely topics. If you had occasion to visit the old bulletin board, you may well remember, or maybe even participated in, many of the lively discussions. For most of these we ended up with an “official” answer, and can often see where the discussions influenced subsequent CPM releases. But, occasionally there were questions that went unresolved and unanswered. We all had the opportunity to see how variable our “common” practice, all defined by the same standard, really could be common.

The best way to get to the content is to create a link to the discussion area in your favorites. It should look like this: ifpug.mymemberfuse.com. I have it on Chrome and in IE, and they seem to remember all of my particulars for logging in and going straight to My Dashboard.

  • My Dashboard: This is “command central” where you can see activity and navigate around the entire site. For most activity, like new discussions and comments, the description is a little cryptic “Steve replied to a discussion on . . .”, but, you can always go to My Discussions and see all of the activity where you have contributed, and other discussions in your Group(s), and recommended discussions, even those in other groups.
  • My Groups will show you the groups you have joined, and clicking those groups from there will give you an activity report, including the discussion topics where activity has occurred. This is very useful as a starting point to catch up and keep current on everything going on in your group(s).

Below the “My” menu, there are three useful content areas:

  • First is the Organizations link. This will take you to a listing of the Organizations that are current members of IFPUG and where they are located. You can do specific and general searches of this listing.
  • Next are Groups. You can see which groups you belong to and which groups are available. From here it is easy to identify which groups you are interested in, join those groups, and participate. (I did not see how to create a group).
  • Finally you can access the resources area from this sub menu. Resources are files and links that you may find useful. From the main area you can access those resources intended for everyone. Discussion groups also have resources available, and you can access those by selecting resources from within the discussion group.

And when it is time to go home, clicking the Home link takes you back to the Welcome Page, and you can go from there.

 Anyone interested in discussing Function Point Analysis related topics, and any others for that matter, is encouraged to start a thread on this new bulletin board. Please try to keep the continuation threads on topic. You can always start another thread to depart from the original topic, and it makes it much easier to follow the topics and understand when the discussion has reached a conclusion. And please keep your discussions polite, and show respect for others and their opinions.

The Bulletin Board recently added the option for a threaded view of discussions.  This can be switched per the user when on the webpage of the discussion.  If using the Threaded View, the replies to specific posts within the discussion will be indented directly underneath that post.  In the Classic View, they will see the discussion posts ordered by time only (newest first) and they would need to switch to the Threaded View to see replies ordered in reply sequence.

The current Bulletin Board needs a way to categorize discussions, for example, FP Questions; Certification Questions; SNAP Questions, etc., to keep them manageable. If you have ideas on how to do best this, please start a new thread on the Bulletin Board.

Thanks and Good Luck,

Steve

 

LinkedInTwitterFacebookGoogle+PrintFriendlyPrintEmail