تذكر صديقنا وزميلنا ديفيد طومسون (1940 – 2016)

ديفيد طومسونفي سبتمبر 22, 2016, صديقنا ديفيد طومسون توفي فجأة من السكتة الدماغية. وكان ديفيد ركيزة من ركائز المجتمع IFPUG, كان آخرها منصب رئيس لجنة الاتصالات والتسويق. داود ربما كانت كذلك أول شخص في المجتمع IFPUG لتقديم نفسه بالنسبة لي, كان ذلك مجرد نوع من شخص كان. تشارك ديفيد مع الجميع من حوله تنتشر التفكير والفرح. وقد وجه صدمة وفاة داود إلى زيادة التركيز لأن الكثير منا قد تم للتو مع ديفيد قبل بضعة أيام في لامؤتمر IFPUG في بالتيمور. لدي العديد من الصور داود في لامؤتمر المشاركة بنشاط.

لا مقيدة ذكرياتي داود إلى هذا المؤتمر النهائي. وكان ديفيد على حد سواء وهو صديق شخصي وزميل له في وظائفنا اليوم. الكتابة كانت حتى هذا الاعلان صغير الجاد ويعمل على تذكير لي لاحتضان فيات بلدي. مع الاعتراف ديفيد, وأعتقد أنه من المهم أن نتذكر أن يكون حاضرا واحتضان الحياة تماما مثل ديفيد!

لقد تلقيت عدة عروض أسعار من العديد من الآخرين بما في ذلك أنطونيو فيري. أنطونيو جمعت الوصايا التالية لديفيد:

ولعل الكلمات التي تنشأ أكثر في رأيي, مع الكثير من الحزن ل “شكر, ديفيد”, شكرا لله “خبرة”, شكرا لسلطته التقديرية, موهبة والدبلوماسية في كلماته, أمانة, والاحتراف. شكرا لتقاسم مع كل واحد منا تلك القيم العظيمة. الجميع التي عملت مع ديفيد قد شارك العديد من يشيد إيجابية وصادقة حول من هو كشخص, مهنيا وشخصيا.

في الأسابيع التي تلت وفاته, لقد قرأت الكلمات الصادقة كتبه أعضاء IFPUG مختلفة: “وكان حقا واحدة من أجمل الناس الذين قابلتهم في حياتي وعملت مع”, “وسوف نفتقده كثيرا; كنا المباركة كل ما تحقق في دائرته”, “وكان قائدا عظيما والدبلوماسية حتى وجميلة فقط حتى دانغ في كل شيء”, “وكان ديفيد الدعامة الأساسية للIFPUG وكان دائما كبيرا للحديث مع. سنشتاق اليه”, “وكان ديفيد واحدة من أرحم الناس بأنني المعروف من أي وقت مضى”, “لا أستطيع أن أفكر في الوقت (قط) عندما كنت قد سمعته يقول شيئا سلبيا لشخص ما أو عن شخص ما”, “وهو الذي كان دائما داعما ومشجعا للعمل الذي تقوم به اللجان IFPUG مختلف”,”وكان مثل هذا الشخص الرائع ومثل هذا الكنز لIFPUG”, “أشعر كما لو أنني haveso بضع كلمات لحزني على وفاة داود”, …

الكومودور ديفيد طومسون

العميد ديفيد طومسون

بعد قراءة جمعية الشراع دنفر الخبر المحزن “دنفر الإبحار يخسر صديق عظيم وزعيم … كما أنني فخور بأن أقول أنه كان صديقا حميما لي. انه افتقد”, تلك الكلمات التي كتبها بيل Cabrall تعكس هذه اللباقة وسيلة للحياة. هذه الكلمات يمكن استخدام نفس, تقريبا دون تغيير فاصلة, إلى IFPUG كما “مجموعة نقطة المستخدمين وظيفة الدولية يفقد صديقا كبيرا والزعيم …” مما لا شك فيه أننا فقدنا حقا صديق عظيم وزعيم.

أشعر بحزن شديد وعميق, لكن على الصعيد الاخر, وأود أن أقول كما ذكرت أعلاه, وأنا ممتن جدا أن تتاح الفرصة للتعرف والعمل مع ديفيد. في حالتي (أنطونيو) فقد كان ل “شرف” وفرحة كبيرة للعمل مع ديفيد.

أخيرا, إذا كان لي أن التواصل مع ديفيد وأود أن أقول له إن كنت آمل انه سيكون الإبحار مع الريح إلى الأبد.

توماس M Cagley جونيور.
الرئيس IFPUG
شهر نوفمبر 2016

20160916_165814

ديفيد, الثاني من اليمين, في لامؤتمر بالتيمور مع مجلس IFPUG – سبتمبر 16, 2016

ربما يعجبك أيضا...

Remembering our friend and colleague David Thompson (1940 – 2016)

david-thompsonOn September 22, 2016, our friend David Thompson died suddenly of a stroke. David was a pillar of the IFPUG community, most recently serving as the Chair of the Communications and Marketing Committee. David may well have been the first person in the IFPUG community to introduce himself to me, that was just the kind of person he was. David engaged with everyone around him spreading thoughtfulness and joy. The shock of David’s death was brought into sharper focus because many of us had just been with David a few days earlier at IFPUG’s unConference in Baltimore. I have several pictures of David at the unconference actively participating.

My memories of David are not constrained to this final conference. David was both a personal friend and colleague in our day jobs. Writing even this small announcement has been hard and serves to remind me to embrace my own mortality. While recognizing David, I believe it is important to remember to be present and embrace life just like David!

I have received several quotes from many others including Antonio Ferre. Antonio compiled the following testaments to David:

Perhaps the words that more arise to my mind, with a lot of sadness are “Thanks, David”, Thanks for his “savoir-faire”, thanks for his discretion, talent and diplomacy in his words, honesty, and professionalism. Thanks for sharing with each of us those great values. Everyone that worked with David has shared many positive and sincere praises about who he was as a person, both professionally and personally.

In the weeks since his passing, I have read sincere words written by different IFPUG members: “He was truly one of the nicest people I have ever met and worked with”, “He will be greatly missed; we were all blessed to have been in his circle”, “He was a great leader and so diplomatic and just so dang nice in every way”, “David was a mainstay of the IFPUG and was always great to talk with. He will be missed”, “David was one of the kindest people that I have ever known”, “I cannot think of a time (not ever) when I have heard him say something negative to someone or about someone”, “He was always supportive and encouraging of the work being done by the various IFPUG Committees”,”He was such a wonderful person and such a treasure for IFPUG”, “I feel as though I haveso few words for my sadness at David’s passing”, …

commodore-david-thompson

Commodore David Thompson

After reading the Denver Sail Association sad news “Denver Sailing Loses a Great Friend and Leader … I am also proud to say he was a close friend of mine. He is sorely missed”, those words written by Bill Cabrall reflect this savoir-faire as a way of life. Those same words can be used, almost without changing a comma, to the IFPUG as “The International Function Point Users Group loses a great friend and leader …” Be sure that we have indeed lost a great friend and leader.

I feel a great and deep sadness, but on the other hand, I would like to say as I mentioned above, I am so grateful to have been given the opportunity to know and to work with David. In my case (Antonio) it has been an “honor” and a great joy to work with David.

Finally, if I were to communicate with David I would tell him that I hoped he would be sailing with the wind for eternity.

Thomas M Cagley Jr.
IFPUG President
November 2016

20160916_165814

David, second from the right, at the Baltimore unConference with the IFPUG Board – September 16, 2016

You may also like...