從IFPUG總統更新: 往屆獲獎者回顧 & 獲獎者

從IFPUG總統更新, 恭綠色

親愛的志願者, 會員, 夥伴, 和 IFPUG 的朋友們,

2021 現在進展順利,我希望我們世界上的大多數人都能感受到 Covid-19 的限制已經開始解除. 我希望這對我們所有人來說將繼續是美好的一年.

IFPUG 最近所做的改進以及我們正在做的所有事情讓我對 IFPUG 的未來感到非常興奮. 我每週都會與志願者開幾次會, 我不禁為所有致力於為我們的成員帶來最好的表現而感到自豪和榮幸. 看看我們已經開始的 Coffee Talk 活動和我們舉辦的虛擬會議 2020 今年早些時候. 這些活動受到了熱烈的歡迎和參與. 它們是董事會選舉合作與活動委員會,尤其是 Sushmitha Anantha(合作與活動委員會的主席)作為委員會主席的原因之一。 2020 年度委員會和志願者.

另一位在過去幾年做出重大貢獻的志願者是 Kriste Lawrence,他於 10 月底離開了董事會 2020. Kriste 的貢獻始於 1998, 這意味著她已經將自己的時間和知識用於 IFPUG 的利益超過 20 年份. 我希望你能和我一起祝 Kriste 未來好運.

每年我們都會宣布 IFPUG 名譽研究員為對 IFPUG 做出重大貢獻的志願者. 在 2019, 榮譽歸於小托馬斯·卡格利(Thomas Cagley Jr). 他曾兩次擔任 IFPUG 總裁, 這本身就是一項成就. 此外, 他也是我們在敏捷社區中最重要的貢獻者之一. 他肯定是我要去的人之一. 我個人從 Thomas Cagley Jr 那裡學到了很多東西.

對於 2020, 獎勵給三位傑出的志願者,他們為 IFPUG 做出了獨特的貢獻,並在我寫作時繼續這樣做. 榮譽院士 2020 是大衛赫倫, 塔爾蒙奔Cnaan, 和皮埃爾·阿爾門. 除了是志願者和前委員會主席, David Herron 寫了一些關於功能點的書,我今天仍在使用. 我知道我們中的許多人過去曾有幸接受過大衛的指導, 我希望我們將來也能工作. 你不能不考慮 Talmon Ben-Cnaan 就說 SNAP. 在 2019 他獲得了年度志願者獎勵,以表彰他為獲得 SNAP IEEE 認證所做的貢獻. 仍然, 他作為志願者對 IFPUG 的傑出貢獻也是他被選為這項獎勵的原因 2020. Pierre Almén——前 IFPUG 董事會成員和現任 ISBSG 總裁, 已成為將 IFPUG 放在全球地圖上的許多舉措的一部分. 他對北歐國家的貢獻以及他作為 ISBSG 的 IFPUG 代表的貢獻受到高度讚賞. 有關我們的更多信息 2019 和 2020 榮譽院士, 訪問 IFPUG 榮譽研究員網頁.

在 2020 艾倫·勞倫斯獲得了特別的榮譽, 誰支持 IFPUG 投資其儲備基金. 阿爾勞倫斯的建議極大地支持了 IFPUG 在春季事件發生後從財務角度保持健康和強大。 2020 Covid-19 對股市的影響.

IFPUG 也有幸擁有以下成員, 以他們的方式, 通過促進組織對 IFPUG 做出重大貢獻. 在 2019 巴西的事件, 我有機會與丹尼斯·阿倫卡交談, 巴西 CFPS/CSP,他已與一所大學取得聯繫並進行了 (無償服務) 在一個週末的課程中為學生提供培訓. 丹尼斯談到與大學接觸以提高有關 IFPUG 和 FPA 的知識, 和SNAP. 她還與我們分享了她自己的成功故事. 我想利用這個機會將此作為一個成功的故事. 我詢問了 Sergio Brigido——我們的前巴西國家代表和現任董事會成員, 與丹尼斯交談以記錄她的故事. 這篇精彩的文章是這項工作的成果. 在春天看到更多 2021 發布 MetricViews.

如果沒有志願者和成員傳播使用 IFPUG 標準可以帶來的所有好處,IFPUG 永遠不會成為一個偉大的組織. 最大的好處是,當一個志願者, 不僅 IFPUG 受益,而且我們所有的成員都受益. 我可以有證據表明,如果沒有我為 IFPUG 的志願服務,沒有我通過與其他 IFPUG 志願者合作獲得的所有知識,我就不會成為今天的我. IFPUG的成員和志願者的人和技能都很出色, 我希望 2021 將是所有組織或團隊將要求至少一名團隊成員作為志願者與 IFPUG 相關的一年.


現在註冊: 年度會員大會
十月. 4, 2021, 10:00 是美國東部時間

我們希望在十月見到你 4 為今年的會員年會, 將虛擬呈現. 會議將突出董事會選舉結果, 2021 獎項和獲獎者, 和其他重要的 IFPUG 新聞. 報名即將開啟. 注意 – 您必須以會員身份登錄才能註冊.

寄存器


年度志願者 2020: Sushmitha Anantha
IFPUG 董事會決定 Sushmitha Anantha 是年度 IFPUG 志願者 2020.

董事會, 在克里斯汀·格林總統的指導下, 希望增加成員之間的共享並創建當前的活動 & 相關的 (IFPUG 目標 2019-2021) 以及對 IFPUG 成員和新人群的吸引力. 結果是在秋天 2019 董事會決定改變戰略並改變會議的名稱和目的 & 夥伴關係和活動委員會的教育委員會 (PEC).

IFPUG 董事會這樣的戰略決策需要志願者的支持和合作,以實現戰略和目標. Sushmitha Anantha 在自願擔任新的 PEC 主席時是會議和教育委員會的成員.
憑藉 Sushmitha 的奉獻精神和專業精神, 委員會很快就有了目標, 程序, 聯繫並正在計劃第一次活動 (一個小時的知識咖啡館和第一次有三位演講者的大型會議) 由於大流行,這一切幾乎都完成了.

毫無疑問,Sushmitha 的專業精神, 協調能力以及她獲勝的個性使她成為 (作為 PEC 主席以及所有活動和合作夥伴溝通) IFPUG 的勝利之手 2020.

IFPUG 正式感謝 Sushmitha 為 IFPUG 提供志願服務,並致力於為 IFPUG 成員和其他人提供活動策劃和與其他利益團體協調合作夥伴關係的服務.


年度委員會 2020:
夥伴關係 & 活動委員會

夥伴關係和活動委員會 (PEC) 開始 2020 定義未來幾年的新願景和使命宣言, 重塑其一系列活動.

PEC 開始與 ISBSG 等其他協會就戰略夥伴關係進行對話.

隨著 Covid-19 大流行造成的限制出現, 我們為定期虛擬事件的發生製定了策略, 例如網絡研討會系列 “知識咖啡館。” 該活動於6月啟動 2020, 由世界知名的湯姆·卡格利 (Tom Cagley) 在開幕式上主持, 這代表了 IFPUG 戰略的重大轉變,以持續吸引測量社區.

仍然受到大流行造成的限制, IFPUG 年度面對面 ISMA 會議和其他全國性面對面會議也必須重塑. PEC 然後在 7 月安排 2020 符合 CEP 條件的虛擬會議, 使 IFPUG 全球會員能夠保持其 CFPS 認證. 會議取得巨大成功, 被出席 330+ 人.

在接下來的幾個月裡 2020, PEC安排了另外三個 “知識咖啡館” 網絡研討會幾乎 40+ 參加每個活動的平均人數. 其中之一由皮埃爾·阿爾門 (Pierre Almén) 交付, ISBSG 主席, IFPUG 長期合作夥伴組織.


特別感謝克里斯特勞倫斯
IFPUG 感謝 Kriste Lawrence 對 IFPUG 的所有承諾,以表彰她離開 IFPUG 董事會 2020.

對於超過 20 年份, 克里斯特勞倫斯一直是貢獻者, 志願者, 和 IFPUG 董事會成員,當然還有 IFPUG 主席 2013-2015.

在這段時期, 她為 IFPUG 的成功做出了許多重要貢獻. 例如她擔任的認證委員會成員 2004-2009. 在這段時期, 認證委員會首次將考試自動化並引入了認證擴展計劃. 在 2009 Kriste 當選為 IFPUG 董事會成員並開始擔任會議主任 & 教育.

在這同一時期, IFPUG 在美國以外舉行了第一次會議: 巴西的 ISMA Cinco 在 2010. ISMA Cinco 會議為在美國舉行的許多其他 IFPUG 會議打開了大門, 巴西, 西班牙, 意大利, 和印度. 在董事會僅一年後, 克里斯特·勞倫斯當選為董事會高管. 擔任 IFPUG 財務主管的第一年,此後當選為 IFPUG 副總裁 2011. Kriste 在董事會的最後幾年再次擔任 IFPUG 財務主管,她確保 IFPUG 即使在困境中也能保持強大.

以來 1994, Kriste 一直積極使用 IFPUG 尺寸標準,並被授予 IFPUG CFPS Fellow 2017 獲得認證後 20 年份. 她對IFPUG功能點分析的學習和成長做出了長期的貢獻. 一個甚至有一個被批准的美國模式, 《應用軟件定價方法》,“ 即使它來自 2005 今天仍然值得一讀.
在她擔任總統期間 2013-2015, Kriste 對 IFPUG 的目標之一是“敢於冒險”, 創造性和開放性。”克里斯特勞倫斯一直在冒險, 有創造力的, 在她長期擔任 IFPUG 志願者期間,思想開放. 她的開放態度在過去為 IFPUG 和 IFPUG 成員帶來了很多好處 20 年份.


特別感謝並祝賀
湯姆Cagley, IFPUG 前任主席和榮譽院士
Tom Cagley 曾兩次擔任 IFPUG 總裁 (2007-2009 和 2015-2017). 他對IFPUG的貢獻不可估量. 這些年來, 湯姆作為委員會成員為 IFPUG 組織傾注了時間和精力, 董事會成員兼總裁. 他作為測量專家的經驗 (CFPS), 顧問, 揚聲器, 作者, 教練, 敏捷指南在保持 IFPUG 活躍和最新方面發揮了重要作用.

作為專業人士, 湯姆帶領組織和團隊釋放他們內在的偉大. 他的目標是通過敏捷採用來幫助我們的行業發展, 適應, 和測量. Tom 幫助團隊和組織改進週期時間, 生產率, 質量, 士氣, 和客戶滿意度, 然後證明. 湯姆相信只有當你釋放人員和數據的力量時才會發生變化. 他一直是國際上受人尊敬的博主和播客 15 多年專注於軟件過程和測量. 他與人合著了掌握軟件項目管理: 最佳實踐, Murali K 的工具和技術. 結構. Tom 還在 IFPUG IT 和軟件測量指南中撰寫了標題為“使用功能度量進行敏捷估計”的章節.

授予 Tom Cagley 榮譽院士稱號, IFPUG 承認他作為志願者的承諾以及他對 IFPUG 成功的貢獻. 祝賀, 湯姆!


祝賀榮譽院士:
皮埃爾·阿爾曼, 塔爾蒙·本-克南和大衛·赫倫

皮埃爾·阿爾曼 一直在使用功能點 1984. 從 IFPUG 的早期開始, 皮埃爾參加了許多重要活動——例如成為首批 CFPS 之一 1994. 皮埃爾一直是管理層 & 報告委員會主席——過去創建測量大綱和認證計劃的團隊. Pierre 是 IFPUG 董事會成員 2014 並再次離開董事會 2017. 今天, Pierre 主要作為 ISBSG 董事會中的 ISBSG 代表為 IFPUG 服務,此後一直 2019 曾任ISBSG主席.

除了他在 ISBSG 的總統職位之外, Pierre Almén 是許多其他活動的一部分,例如 IFPUG 工作組的主席,對使用 IFPUG 數據提供基準的組織進行基準認證. 在 Pierre Almén,您將永遠擁有一位偉大而忠誠的志願者. 因此,請留意 IFPUG 中的新資產——您很可能會看到 Pierre 為這些項目的成功開發做出了貢獻.

皮埃爾·阿爾門 (Pierre Almén) 在世界各地進行了大量演講——例如 2006 首屆 ISMA 品牌 IFPUG 會議 – ISMA 1 在聖地亞哥, 我們. – 他提出了“外包——基於事實的決策”的標題?” 在瑞典,他多年來一直是瑞典的積極領導成員 – 瑞典計算機協會下的軟件度量網絡. 在這個網絡中,他與有趣的演講者安排了虛擬和麵對面的會議,並傳播了指標的價值——包括事業 IFPUG FPA.

在皮埃爾的空閒時間, 他會享受這個國家 & 沿著美麗的瑞典海岸線越野跑步和劃皮划艇的大自然.

塔爾蒙奔Cnaan 擁有處理軟件度量的長期 ICT 經驗, 質量保證和測試方法. 他一直是非功能性尺寸標準委員會的積極成員 (NFSSC) 從一開始,他仍然是主席, 為創建和發展 SNAP 做出貢獻 (軟件非功能性評估程序) 方法, 作為 “對方” FPA 並找到一種方法來衡量和確定 NFR 的大小 (非功能性需求), 離開 IFPUG 2003 白皮書要求發展 GSC (常規系統特性) 概念分離, 與 ISO/IEC 匹配的可測量概念 25010, 定義軟件產品質量屬性的標準. 實現的目標之一是涵蓋一系列與所謂的 “零FP” 項目, 處理一些不影響 FUR 的維護類型 (功能用戶需求).

Talmon 積極為 CSP 的創建做出貢獻 (SNAP認證從業者) 考試, 開始於 2013 正在向專家級別發展, 稱為 CSS (認證 SNAP 專家) 在接下來的幾個月裡. 沒有他, SNAP 不會是今天的樣子: SNAP 成為 IEEE 標準 (2430-2019) 並且也在朝著 ISO 認證邁進. 他的奉獻精神和領導能力非常出色. 目前, Talmon 也在其他 IFPUG 團體中做出貢獻, 旨在在整個 ICT 社區中越來越多地整合和傳播 SNAP.

大衛·赫倫 是績效衡量領域的權威, 流程改進, 和功能尺寸, 等等. 幾十年來,他一直是 IFPUG 的無條件僕人: IFPUG MetricViews 編輯器, IFPUG 管理報告委員會主席, IT績效委員會成員, 傳播與營銷委員會成員… 大衛已經在大量實體中付諸實踐, 來自世界不同地區, 使用指標來監控 IT 對業務的影響, 在管理外包合同方面, 並將 IFPUG 的名稱及其概念和附加值提升到最高水平. David 是著名公司 David Consulting Group 的創始人之一,並為大量 IT 公司提供諮詢和輔導服務.

他曾在大量 IFPUG 會議中擔任主持人, 與主題,如 “識別您的IT組織的最佳實踐,” “審核測量程序的必要性,” “軟件質量風險因素的早期生命週期識別,” “軟件測量的輕鬆一面,” 大量文章的作者和不同書籍的合著者,例如 “測量軟件過程: 功能測量實用指南” 要么 “功能點分析: 成功軟件項目的測量實踐。”

用安東尼奧·費雷的話來說, 前 IFPUG CMC 主席, “大衛赫倫一直是一個無條件的人,分享他的智慧, IFPUG 的時間和知識, 我很自豪多年來能夠與大衛密切合作。” 在恭綠色的字, IFPUG總統, “我第一次見到大衛赫倫是在我的第一次會議上 1999. 他就是那個時候寫過Function Points這本書的超級大佬. 所以, 我帶來了我的書並讓他簽名. 我還在用這本書 – 最近,當我對 FPA 進行審查時,我們在任何 iTIPS 或 CPM 中都找不到答案。”


IFPUG 2021 CFPS研究員:
恭喜女士. 克里斯汀格林和先生. 丹尼爾法國
下面列出的CFPS研究員已經在顯示他們的專業知識 20 多年並擔任領導測量實踐的燈塔. 我們讚賞他們的奉獻精神和誠信.

Christine Green 是一位非常知名的行業估算專家,是世界上為數不多的估算專家之一 (僅在北歐) 結合項目管理中的經驗和認證, Scrum, 規模 & 精益流程改進. 在擔任 IFPUG 總裁之前, 克里斯汀作為一名不屈不撓的志願者為 IFPUG 服務了超過 20 年份. 她領導了 IFPUG 的多項關鍵舉措, 其中包括 SNAP 手冊發布和 IT 性能培訓等. Christine 利用她獨特的技能和經驗組合來確保流程改進並為所開展的項目利用最佳實踐. 她非常樂於分享她的知識,並且是許多 IFPUG 會議的知名演講者. 她還積極參與與 IFPUG 聯絡的其他組織,例如 ISBSG, 敏捷聯合和 ICEAA.

Daniel French 是功能軟件規模評估委員會的現任主席. Dan 是功能尺寸標準委員會的成員 (FSSC), 它的前身, 近二十年的新環境委員會. 他還在 ICEAA 等其他各種行業論壇上代表 IFPUG. 他對編寫 FP 白皮書的奉獻精神和傑出貢獻確實幫助用戶將 FPA 用於更新的技術. 這些年來, 他一直是監控 IFPUG 公告板以解決計數相關問題的關鍵人物.

通過授予 Christine Green 和 Daniel French 2021 CFPS 院士稱號, IFPUG是承認他們作為志願者的承諾和他們對IFPUG的成功貢獻. 恭喜他們.

 


艾倫勞倫斯特別榮譽
在 2013, IFPUG 決定將部分收入投資於股票,而不是將其存入銀行賬戶. 如果沒有艾倫勞倫斯的建議,這個行動是不可能的. 由於投資的收入不僅在股票市場上保持不變,而且對我們的投資產生了顯著的影響. 艾倫·勞倫斯 (Alan Lawrence) 一直為 IFPUG 提供富有洞察力的建議,並將在未來繼續這樣做. 由於他在這一領域的志願者支持,IFPUG 決定在 2017 年秋季授予艾倫勞倫斯特別榮譽 2020.

 

您可能還喜歡...

Update from the IFPUG President: Review of Past Honorees & Award Winners

Update from the IFPUG President, Christine Green

Dear Volunteers, Members, Partners, and friends of IFPUG,

2021 is now well on its way and I hope that most of us around the world can feel that Covid-19 restrictions have started to lift. I am hopeful that it will continue to be an excellent year for all of us.

The improvements that IFPUG recently made and all the things we are working on make me very excited for the future of IFPUG. I have several meetings every week with volunteers, and I cannot help being proud of and honored by all of the commitment to bring the best out to our members. Just look at the Coffee Talk events we have started and the virtual conferences we held in 2020 and earlier this year. These events have been so well received and attended. They are one of the reasons why the board elected the Partnership and Events Committee and especially Sushmitha Anantha—the Partnership and Events Committee’s chair—as the 2020 Committee and Volunteer of the Year.

Another volunteer who has contributed significantly over the last several years is Kriste Lawrence who left the Board at the end of October 2020. Kriste’s contributions started in 1998, and that means that she has used her time and knowledge for the good of IFPUG for more than 20 years. I hope you will join me in wishing Kriste the best of luck for the future.

Every year we announce IFPUG Honorary Fellows as volunteers who have contributed significantly to the IFPUG. In 2019, the honor went to Thomas Cagley Jr. He has dedicated time to be the IFPUG President twice, which is an achievement in itself. In addition, he is also one of our most significant contributors within the Agile community. He is surely one of the people to whom I would go. I have personally learned so much from Thomas Cagley Jr.

For 2020, the reward goes to three remarkable volunteers who provided unique contributions to IFPUG and continue to do so as I write. The Honorary Fellows for 2020 are David Herron, Talmon Ben-Cnaan, and Pierre Almén. Besides being a volunteer and past Committee Chair, David Herron has written books about Function Points that I still use today. I know that many of us have been fortunate enough to receive guidance from David in the past, and I hope we will work as well in the future. You cannot say SNAP without thinking about Talmon Ben-Cnaan. In 2019 he received the reward for volunteer of the year for his contribution to getting SNAP IEEE accredited. Still, his outstanding commitment to IFPUG as a volunteer was also why he was elected for this reward in 2020. Pierre Almén—a former IFPUG board member and current ISBSG President, has been part of many initiatives that have put IFPUG on the map worldwide. His contribution to the Nordic Countries and his contribution as an IFPUG representative at ISBSG is highly appreciated. For more information about our 2019 and 2020 Honorary Fellows, visit the IFPUG Honorary Fellows webpage.

In 2020 a special honor went to Alan Lawrence, who supports IFPUG in the investment of its reserve funds. Al Lawrence’s advice has significantly supported IFPUG standing healthy and strong from a financial perspective after the events in the spring of 2020 with Covid-19’s impact on the stock market.

IFPUG is also fortunate enough to have members who, in their way, are contributing significantly to IFPUG by promoting the organization. At the 2019 event in Brazil, I had the chance to talk with Denise Alencar, a Brazilian CFPS/CSP who has approached a university and conducted (pro bono) training for students over the course of a weekend. Denise spoke about approaching universities to improve the knowledge about IFPUG and FPA, and SNAP. She has also shared with us her own success story. I wanted to use this opportunity to capture this as a success story. I asked Sergio Brigido—our former Brazilian country representative and current board member, to talk with Denise to capture her story. This brilliant article was the result of this work. See more in the Spring 2021 release of MetricViews.

IFPUG would never be a great organization without its volunteers and members to spread the word about all the good things that can come out of using the IFPUG Standards. The great benefit is that when one volunteers, not only IFPUG benefits but all our members. I can say with evidence that I would not be where I am today without my volunteering for IFPUG—without all the knowledge I have gained by working with other IFPUG volunteers. The people and the skills of members and volunteers of IFPUG are outstanding, and I hope that 2021 will be the year during which all organizations or teams will ask for at least one team member to be related to IFPUG as a volunteer.


Register Now: Annual Membership Meeting
Oct. 4, 2021, 10:00 am ET

We hope to see you on October 4 for this year’s Annual Membership Meeting, which will be presented virtually. The meeting will highlight the Board election results, 2021 awards and honorees, and other key IFPUG news. Registration will open soon. Note – you must be logged in as a member to register.

Register


Volunteer of the Year 2020: Sushmitha Anantha
The IFPUG board has decided that Sushmitha Anantha is the IFPUG volunteer of the year for 2020.

The board, under the direction of the President Christine Green, wanted to increase the sharing among members and create events that would be Current & Relevant (IFPUG Goal 2019-2021) as well as attractive to IFPUG members and a new group of people. The result was that in the fall of 2019 the board decided to change strategy and move away from the name and purpose of the Conference & Education Committee to the Partnerships and Events Committee (PEC).

A strategic decision like this from the IFPUG board requires volunteer support and cooperation so that the strategy and goals are met. Sushmitha Anantha was a member of the Conference and Education Committee when she volunteered to be the chair of the new PEC.
With Sushmitha’s dedication and professionalism, the committee quickly had goals, procedures, contacts and was planning the first events (both the Knowledge Cafés that are short one-hour sessions and the first big conference with three speakers) all done virtually due to the pandemic.

There is no doubt that Sushmitha’s professionalism, ability to coordinate as well as her winning personality is what is making her (as the Chair of the PEC as well as all the events and partnership communication) the winning hand of IFPUG in 2020.

IFPUG would like to officially thank Sushmitha for her volunteering for IFPUG and dedication to serving IFPUG members and others with the planning of events and coordinating partnerships with other interest groups.


Committee of the Year 2020:
Partnerships & Events Committee

The Partnerships and Events Committee (PEC) started 2020 defining new Vision and Mission statements for the next years, reshaping its set of activities.

PEC started conversations about strategic partnerships with other associations like ISBSG.

As the restrictions caused by the Covid-19 pandemic arose, we strategized the occurrence of regular virtual events, such as the Webinar series “Knowledge Cafe.” The event was launched in June 2020, hosted by the world-known Tom Cagley in its inaugural session, which represented a major turnaround in the IFPUG strategy to continuously engage the measurement community.

Still with the restrictions caused by the pandemic, the IFPUG annual face-to-face ISMA conference and the other countrywide face-to-face conferences had to be reshaped as well. PEC then arranged in July 2020 a virtual conference being eligible for CEP, to enable IFPUG worldwide members to maintain their CFPS certification. The conference was a huge success, being attended by 330+ people.

During later months of 2020, PEC arranged three other “Knowledge Cafe” webinars with nearly 40+ people attending each event on average. One of them was delivered by Pierre Almén, president of ISBSG, an IFPUG long-term partner organization.


A Special Thank You to Kriste Lawrence
IFPUG would like to thank Kriste Lawrence for all her commitment to IFPUG in recognition of her leaving the IFPUG Board of Directors in 2020.

For more than 20 years, Kriste Lawrence has been a Contributor, Volunteer, and Board member of IFPUG and of course the President of IFPUG during 2013-2015.

During this period, she has made so many vital contributions to the success of IFPUG. Such as her membership of the Certification Committee that she chaired between 2004-2009. During this period, the Certification Committee automated the exam for the first time and introduced the Certification Extension Program. In 2009 Kriste was elected to the IFPUG Board and started as the Director of Conference & Education.

During this same period, IFPUG had its first conference outside of the US: ISMA Cinco in Brazil in 2010. The ISMA Cinco conference opened the door for many other IFPUG conferences held in the USA, Brazil, Spain, Italy, and India. After only one year on the board, Kriste Lawrence was elected to be part of the executives on the board. The first year as IFPUG Treasurer and was after this elected as Vice President in 2011. Kriste’s last years on the board were again as IFPUG Treasurer where she made sure that IFPUG stayed strong even in troubled waters.

Since 1994, Kriste has been actively using IFPUG Sizing Standards and was awarded the IFPUG CFPS Fellow in 2017 after being certified for 20 years. Her contribution to the learning and growing of IFPUG Function Point Analysis is long. One has even had an approved US pattern, “The Method of Pricing Application Software,” even though it is from 2005 it is still worth a reading today.
During her period as the President in 2013-2015, one of Kriste’s goals for IFPUG was to be “Be Adventurous, Creative and Open-Minded.” Kriste Lawrence has been adventurous, creative, and open-minded in her long period as a volunteer for IFPUG. Her open-minded approach has had many benefits for IFPUG and IFPUG members in the last 20 years.


A Special Thank You and Congratulations to
Tom Cagley, IFPUG Past President and Honorary Fellow
Tom Cagley has the distinction of having served twice as IFPUG President (2007-2009 and 2015-2017). His contribution to IFPUG has been immeasurable. Over the years, Tom has poured time and effort into the IFPUG organization as a committee member, board member and president. His experience as a measurement specialist (CFPS), consultant, speaker, author, coach, and agile guide has been instrumental in keeping IFPUG alive and up-to-date.

As a professional, Tom leads organizations and teams to unlock their inherent greatness. His goal is to help our industry evolve through agile adoption, adaptation, and measurement. Tom helps teams and organizations improve cycle time, productivity, quality, morale, and customer satisfaction, and then prove it. Tom believes change only occurs when you unlock the power of people and data. He has been an internationally respected blogger and podcaster for over 15 years focusing on software process and measurement. He co-authored Mastering Software Project Management: Best Practices, Tools and Techniques with Murali K. Chemuturi. Tom also penned the chapter titled “Agile Estimation Using Functional Metrics” in The IFPUG Guide to IT and Software Measurement.

By awarding Tom Cagley the Honorary Fellow designation, IFPUG recognizes his commitment as a volunteer and his contribution to the success of IFPUG. Congratulations, Tom!


Congratulations to Honorary Fellows:
Pierre Almén, Talmon Ben-Cnaan and David Herron

Pierre Almén has been using Function Point since 1984. Since the early days of IFPUG, Pierre has been part of many important events – such as being one of the first CFPS in 1994. Pierre has been the Management & Reporting Committee Chair – the team that in the past created the Measurement syllabus and certification program. Pierre was a member of the IFPUG Board of Directors elected in 2014 and left the board again in 2017. Today, Pierre serves IFPUG primarily as the ISBSG representative in the ISBSG Board of Directors and has since 2019 been the President of ISBSG.

In addition to his Presidency at ISBSG, Pierre Almén is part of many other activities such as the chair of the IFPUG taskforce for a Benchmark Certification of Organizations delivering Benchmark using IFPUG data. You will always have a great and committed volunteer in Pierre Almén. So look out for new assets within IFPUG – it is likely you will see that Pierre has contributed to the success of the development of these.

Pierre Almén has given a large number of presentations around the world – such as in 2006 the very first ISMA branded IFPUG conference – ISMA 1 in San Diego, U.S. – he presented with the title “Outsourcing – A Fact Based Decision?” In Sweden he has for many years been an active leading member of the Swedish – Software Metrics Network under the Swedish Computer Society. In this network he arranges both virtual and face-to-face meetings with interesting speakers and is spreading the value of Metrics – including of cause IFPUG FPA.

In Pierre’s spare time, he will enjoy the country & nature with cross-country running and kayaking along the beautiful Swedish coastline.

Talmon Ben-Cnaan has a long ICT experience dealing with software metrics, quality assurance and testing methodologies. He has been actively part of the Non-Functional Sizing Standards Committee (NFSSC) from the beginning and he is still the Chair, contributing to create and evolve the SNAP (Software Non-Functional Assessment Process) method, as the “counter-part” of FPA and find a way to measure and size NFRs (Non-Functional Requirements), moving from the IFPUG 2003 white paper asking to evolve the GSC (General System Characteristics) concept into a separated, measurable concept matching with ISO/IEC 25010, the standard defining the software product quality attributes. One of the goals achieved was to cover a series of scenarios related to the so-called “zero FP” projects, dealing with some maintenance types not impacting on FURs (Functional User Requirements).

Talmon was actively contributing to the creation of the CSP (Certified SNAP Practitioner) exam, beginning in 2013 that’s evolving toward the Specialist level, called CSS (Certified SNAP Specialist) in the coming months. Without him, SNAP would not be what it is today: SNAP became an IEEE standard (2430-2019) and is moving also towards the ISO certification. His dedication and leadership has been outstanding. Currently, Talmon is contributing also in other IFPUG groups, with the aim to integrate and diffuse SNAP more and more throughout the ICT community.

David Herron is an authority in the areas of performance measurement, process improvement, and functional size, among others. For decades he has been an IFPUG unconditional servant: IFPUG MetricViews editor, chair of the IFPUG Management Reporting Committee, member of the IT Performance Committee, member of the Communications and Marketing Committee… David has put in practice in a huge number of entities, from different parts of the world, the use of metrics to monitor the impact of IT on the business, in governing outsourcing contracts, and has brought the name of IFPUG and its concepts and add value to the highest levels. David was one of the founders of the prestigious company David Consulting Group and has provided consulting and coaching services for a high number of IT companies.

He has been presenter in a huge number of IFPUG conferences, with topics such as “Identifying Your IT Organization’s Best Practices,” “The Need for Auditing Your Measurement Program,” “Early Lifecycle Identification of Software Quality Risk Factors,” “The Lighter Side of Software Measurement,” author of a high number of articles and co-author of different books such as “Measuring the Software Process: A Practical Guide to Functional Measurements” or “Function Point Analysis: Measurement Practices for Successful Software Projects.”

In the words of Antonio Ferre, former IFPUG CMC chair, “David Herron has been an unconditional person sharing its wisdom, time and knowledge in IFPUG, and I am proud to have been able to work close to David during years.” In words of Christine Green, IFPUG President, “I met David Herron for the first time at my first conference in 1999. He was at that time this super guy that had written the book about Function Points. So, I brought my book and got him to sign it. I still use the book – recently when I did a review of an FPA where we could not find an answer in any of the iTIPS or CPM.”


IFPUG 2021 CFPS Fellows:
Congratulations to Ms. Christine Green and Mr. Daniel French
The CFPS Fellows listed below have shown their expertise over 20 years and act as a beacon in leading measurement practices. We appreciate their dedication and integrity.

Christine Green is a very well-known industry Estimation expert and is one of the very few in the world (only in Nordic) with the combination of experience and certifications within Project Management, Scrum, Scale & Lean Process Improvement. Before taking on as the President of IFPUG, Christine has served IFPUG as an undeterred volunteer for more than 20 years. She has led multiple key initiatives within IFPUG, which include the SNAP manual release and IT Performance training to name a few. Christine leverages her unique combination of skills and experience to secure process improvement and utilize best practices for the projects undertaken. She is very forthcoming in sharing her knowledge and has been a known speaker for many IFPUG conferences. She has been also active in other organizations liaising with IFPUG such as ISBSG, Agile United and ICEAA.

Daniel French is the currently the Chairperson for the Functional Software Sizing Committee. Dan has been part of the Functional Sizing Standards Committee (FSSC), and its predecessor, the New Environments Committee for almost two decades. He also represents IFPUG in various other industry forums like ICEAA. His dedication and outstanding contributions to writing FP white papers has really helped the users to adopt FPA to newer technologies. Over the years, he has been a key person who monitored the IFPUG bulletin board to address counting related questions.

By awarding Christine Green and Daniel French the 2021 CFPS Fellow designation, IFPUG is recognizing their commitment as a volunteer and their contribution to the success of IFPUG. Congratulations to them.

 


Special Honor to Alan Lawrence
In 2013, IFPUG decided to invest part of the revenue in stocks instead of having it stored in a bank account. This action would not have been possible without the advice of Alan Lawrence. Due to the fact that not only have the revenue invested been kept intact in the stock market but generated a significant plus on our investments. Alan Lawrence has always given IFPUG advice that has been insightful and will continue to do this in the future. For his volunteer support on this area IFPUG decided to award Alan Lawrence for a Special honor in the fall of 2020.

 

You may also like...