تحديث من الرئيس IFPUG: مراجعة المكرمين السابقين & الفائزون بالجائزة

تحديث من الرئيس IFPUG, كريستين الخضراء

أعزائي المتطوعين, أفراد, شركاء, وأصدقاء IFPUG,

2021 الآن في طريقه جيدًا وآمل أن يشعر معظمنا حول العالم أن قيود Covid-19 قد بدأت في الرفع. آمل أن تستمر هذه السنة في كونها سنة ممتازة لنا جميعاً.

التحسينات التي أجراها IFPUG مؤخرًا وجميع الأشياء التي نعمل عليها تجعلني متحمسًا جدًا لمستقبل IFPUG. لدي عدة اجتماعات كل أسبوع مع المتطوعين, ولا يسعني إلا أن أشعر بالفخر والتكريم من خلال الالتزام بتقديم الأفضل لأعضائنا. ما عليك سوى إلقاء نظرة على أحداث Coffee Talk التي بدأناها والمؤتمرات الافتراضية التي عقدناها 2020 وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام. تم استقبال هذه الأحداث وحضورها بشكل جيد. إنها أحد الأسباب التي دفعت مجلس الإدارة إلى انتخاب لجنة الشراكة والأحداث وخاصة سوشميثا أنانثا - رئيسة لجنة الشراكة والفعاليات - بصفتها 2020 لجنة ومتطوع العام.

متطوعة أخرى ساهمت بشكل كبير في السنوات العديدة الماضية هي كريستي لورانس التي تركت المجلس في نهاية أكتوبر 2020. بدأت مساهمات كريستي في 1998, وهذا يعني أنها استخدمت وقتها ومعرفتها لصالح IFPUG لأكثر من 20 سنوات. آمل أن تنضموا إلي في تمنيات كريستي بالتوفيق في المستقبل.

نعلن كل عام عن الزملاء الفخريين IFPUG كمتطوعين ساهموا بشكل كبير في IFPUG. في 2019, ذهب التكريم إلى Thomas Cagley Jr. لقد كرس وقتًا ليكون رئيس IFPUG مرتين, وهو إنجاز بحد ذاته. بالاضافة, وهو أيضًا أحد أهم مساهمينا في مجتمع Agile. إنه بالتأكيد أحد الأشخاص الذين سأذهب إليهم. لقد تعلمت شخصيًا الكثير من توماس كاجلي جونيور.

إلى عن على 2020, تذهب المكافأة إلى ثلاثة متطوعين رائعين قدموا مساهمات فريدة لـ IFPUG ويستمرون في القيام بذلك أثناء الكتابة. الزملاء الفخريون لـ 2020 هم ديفيد هيرون, تالمون بن Cnaan, وبيير ألمين. إلى جانب كونه متطوع ورئيس سابق للجنة, كتب David Herron كتبًا عن نقاط الوظيفة التي ما زلت أستخدمها حتى اليوم. أعلم أن الكثيرين منا كانوا محظوظين بما يكفي لتلقي التوجيه من ديفيد في الماضي, وآمل أن نعمل كذلك في المستقبل. لا يمكنك قول SNAP دون التفكير في تلمون بن كنعان. في 2019 حصل على جائزة أفضل متطوع لهذا العام لمساهمته في الحصول على اعتماد SNAP IEEE. ما يزال, كان التزامه المتميز بـ IFPUG كمتطوع هو أيضًا سبب انتخابه لهذه المكافأة في 2020. بيير ألمين - عضو سابق في مجلس إدارة IFPUG ورئيس ISBSG الحالي, كان جزءًا من العديد من المبادرات التي وضعت IFPUG على الخريطة في جميع أنحاء العالم. مساهمته في بلدان الشمال الأوروبي ومساهمته كممثل IFPUG في ISBSG محل تقدير كبير. لمزيد من المعلومات حول موقعنا 2019 و 2020 الزملاء الفخرية, قم بزيارة صفحة الويب الخاصة بالزملاء الفخريين IFPUG.

في 2020 حصل آلان لورانس على شرف خاص, الذي يدعم IFPUG في استثمار أموالها الاحتياطية. لقد دعمت نصيحة آل لورنس بشكل كبير مكانة IFPUG السليمة والقوية من منظور مالي بعد الأحداث في ربيع 2020 مع تأثير Covid-19 على سوق الأسهم.

IFPUG هو أيضا محظوظ بما فيه الكفاية لوجود أعضاء, في طريقهم, تساهم بشكل كبير في IFPUG من خلال تعزيز المنظمة. في ال 2019 حدث في البرازيل, أتيحت لي الفرصة للتحدث مع دينيس ألينكار, أ برازيلي CFPS / CSP الذي اقترب من الجامعة وأجرى (مجانًا) تدريب للطلاب على مدار عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. تحدث دينيس عن الاقتراب من الجامعات لتحسين المعرفة حول IFPUG و FPA, وSNAP. لقد شاركت معنا أيضًا قصة نجاحها. أردت أن أغتنم هذه الفرصة لالتقاط هذا كقصة نجاح. سألت سيرجيو بريجيدو - ممثل بلدنا البرازيلي السابق وعضو مجلس الإدارة الحالي, للتحدث مع دينيس لالتقاط قصتها. هذه المقالة الرائعة كانت نتيجة هذا العمل. شاهد المزيد في الربيع 2021 الافراج عن MetricViews.

لن تكون IFPUG أبدًا منظمة رائعة بدون متطوعيها وأعضائها لنشر الكلمة حول كل الأشياء الجيدة التي يمكن أن تنتج عن استخدام معايير IFPUG. الفائدة العظيمة هي أنه عندما يتطوع المرء, ليس فقط فوائد IFPUG ولكن جميع أعضائنا. يمكنني القول بدليل أنني لن أكون حيث أنا اليوم بدون التطوع في IFPUG - بدون كل المعرفة التي اكتسبتها من خلال العمل مع متطوعين آخرين IFPUG. الأشخاص ومهارات الأعضاء والمتطوعين في IFPUG رائعة, وآمل ذلك 2021 سيكون العام الذي ستطلب خلاله جميع المنظمات أو الفرق أن يكون عضو فريق واحد على الأقل مرتبطًا بـ IFPUG كمتطوع.


سجل الان: اجتماع العضوية السنوي
أكتوبر. 4, 2021, 10:00 صباحا ET

نأمل أن نراك في أكتوبر 4 لاجتماع العضوية السنوي لهذا العام, والتي سيتم تقديمها افتراضيًا. سوف يسلط الاجتماع الضوء على نتائج انتخابات مجلس الإدارة, 2021 الجوائز والتكريمات, وغيرها من الأخبار الرئيسية IFPUG. سيتم فتح التسجيل قريبا. ملحوظة – يجب عليك تسجيل الدخول كعضو للتسجيل.

تسجيل


متطوع العام 2020: Sushmitha أنانثا
قرر مجلس IFPUG أن Sushmitha Anantha هي متطوع IFPUG لهذا العام 2020.

اللجنة, تحت إشراف الرئيسة كريستين جرين, أراد زيادة المشاركة بين الأعضاء وإنشاء أحداث ستكون حالية & ذو صلة (الهدف IFPUG 2019-2021) بالإضافة إلى أنها جذابة لأعضاء IFPUG ومجموعة جديدة من الناس. وكانت النتيجة أنه في خريف 2019 قرر المجلس تغيير الإستراتيجية والابتعاد عن اسم المؤتمر والغرض منه & لجنة التعليم في لجنة الشراكات والفعاليات (PEC).

يتطلب قرار استراتيجي مثل هذا من مجلس IFPUG دعمًا وتعاونًا من المتطوعين حتى يتم تلبية الإستراتيجية والأهداف. كانت سوشميثا أنانثا عضوًا في لجنة المؤتمرات والتعليم عندما تطوعت لتكون رئيسًا للجنة الانتخابات العامة الجديدة.
مع تفاني Sushmitha واحترافها, سرعان ما كان للجنة أهداف, إجراءات, اتصالات وكان يخطط للأحداث الأولى (كلاً من مقاهي المعرفة التي تستغرق جلسات قصيرة مدتها ساعة واحدة والمؤتمر الكبير الأول مع ثلاثة متحدثين) كل ذلك تقريبًا بسبب الوباء.

ليس هناك شك في احتراف سوشميثا, القدرة على التنسيق بالإضافة إلى شخصيتها الفائزة هو ما يجعلها (كرئيس للجنة الانتخابات الرئاسية فضلا عن جميع الأحداث والاتصالات الشراكة) اليد الفائزة في IFPUG 2020.

يود IFPUG أن يشكر Sushmitha رسميًا لتطوعها في IFPUG وتفانيها في خدمة أعضاء IFPUG وغيرهم مع تخطيط الأحداث وتنسيق الشراكات مع مجموعات المصالح الأخرى.


لجنة العام 2020:
الشراكه & لجنة الفعاليات

لجنة الشراكات والفعاليات (PEC) بدأت 2020 تحديد الرؤية الجديدة وبيان الرسالة للسنوات القادمة, إعادة تشكيل مجموعة أنشطتها.

بدأت PEC محادثات حول الشراكات الاستراتيجية مع جمعيات أخرى مثل ISBSG.

مع ظهور القيود التي تسبب بها جائحة Covid-19, وضعنا استراتيجية لوقوع أحداث افتراضية منتظمة, مثل سلسلة البرامج التعليمية على الويب “مقهى المعرفة.” تم إطلاق الحدث في يونيو 2020, استضافه توم كاجلي الشهير عالميًا في جلسته الافتتاحية, التي مثلت تحولًا كبيرًا في استراتيجية IFPUG لإشراك مجتمع القياس بشكل مستمر.

مع استمرار القيود التي سببها الوباء, كان لا بد من إعادة تشكيل مؤتمر IFPUG السنوي ISMA والمؤتمرات الأخرى وجهًا لوجه على مستوى البلاد أيضًا. ثم رتبت PEC في يوليو 2020 مؤتمر افتراضي مؤهل لـ CEP, لتمكين أعضاء IFPUG في جميع أنحاء العالم من الحفاظ على شهادة CFPS الخاصة بهم. كان المؤتمر نجاحا كبيرا, التي يحضرها 330+ اشخاص.

خلال الأشهر اللاحقة من 2020, رتبت المؤسسة العامة لثلاثة آخرين “مقهى المعرفة” ندوات عبر الإنترنت مع ما يقرب من 40+ الأشخاص الذين يحضرون كل حدث في المتوسط. تم تسليم واحد منهم من قبل بيير ألمين, رئيس ISBSG, منظمة شريكة طويلة الأجل IFPUG.


شكر خاص لكريست لورانس
يود IFPUG أن يشكر Kriste Lawrence على كل التزامها بـ IFPUG تقديراً لتركها مجلس إدارة IFPUG في 2020.

لأكثر من 20 سنوات, كانت كريستي لورانس مساهمًا, تطوع, وعضو مجلس إدارة IFPUG وبالطبع رئيس IFPUG خلال 2013-2015.

خلال هذه الفترة, لقد قدمت العديد من المساهمات الحيوية في نجاح IFPUG. مثل عضويتها في لجنة التصديق التي ترأستها بين 2004-2009. خلال هذه الفترة, قامت لجنة الاعتماد بأتمتة الاختبار لأول مرة وقدمت برنامج تمديد الشهادة. في 2009 تم انتخاب كريستي لعضوية مجلس إدارة IFPUG وبدأت كمديرة للمؤتمر & التعليم.

خلال هذه الفترة نفسها, عقدت IFPUG أول مؤتمر لها خارج الولايات المتحدة: ISMA Cinco في البرازيل في 2010. فتح مؤتمر ISMA Cinco الباب للعديد من مؤتمرات IFPUG الأخرى التي عقدت في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية, البرازيل, إسبانيا, إيطاليا, والهند. بعد عام واحد فقط على السبورة, تم انتخاب كريستي لورانس لتكون جزءًا من المديرين التنفيذيين في مجلس الإدارة. السنة الأولى كأمين صندوق IFPUG وبعد ذلك تم انتخابه نائبًا للرئيس في 2011. كانت السنوات الأخيرة لكريست في مجلس الإدارة مرة أخرى كأمين صندوق IFPUG حيث تأكدت من بقاء IFPUG قويًا حتى في المياه المضطربة.

منذ 1994, كانت كريستي تستخدم معايير IFPUG التحجيم بنشاط وحصلت على زمالة IFPUG CFPS في 2017 بعد حصوله على الشهادة 20 سنوات. مساهمتها في تعلم وتنمية تحليل نقاط وظيفة IFPUG طويلة. حتى أن المرء لديه نمط أمريكي معتمد, "طريقة تسعير برامج التطبيقات," على الرغم من أنها من 2005 لا يزال يستحق القراءة اليوم.
خلال فترة عملها كرئيسة في 2013-2015, كان أحد أهداف Kriste لـ IFPUG هو "كن مغامرًا, مبدع ومنفتح الذهن ". كانت كريستي لورانس مغامرة, خلاق, ومنفتحة في فترتها الطويلة كمتطوعة في IFPUG. كان لنهجها المنفتح العديد من الفوائد لأعضاء IFPUG و IFPUG في الماضي 20 سنوات.


شكر خاص ومبروك
توم Cagley, رئيس IFPUG السابق وزميل فخري
يتميز Tom Cagley بأنه شغل مرتين منصب رئيس IFPUG (2007-2009 و 2015-2017). كانت مساهمته في IFPUG لا حدود لها. على مر السنين, لقد بذل توم وقتًا وجهدًا في منظمة IFPUG كعضو في اللجنة, عضو مجلس الإدارة والرئيس. خبرته كأخصائي قياس (CFPS), مستشار, مكبر الصوت, مؤلف, مدرب رياضي, و Agile guide كان مفيدًا في الحفاظ على IFPUG على قيد الحياة ومحدّثًا.

كمحترف, يقود توم المنظمات والفرق لإطلاق العنان لعظمتها المتأصلة. هدفه هو مساعدة صناعتنا على التطور من خلال التبني السريع, التكيف, والقياس. يساعد توم الفرق والمؤسسات على تحسين وقت الدورة, إنتاجية, جودة, روح معنوية, ورضا العملاء, ثم إثبات ذلك. يعتقد توم أن التغيير يحدث فقط عندما تطلق العنان لقوة الأشخاص والبيانات. لقد كان مدونًا ومحترمًا دوليًا لأكثر من ذلك 15 سنوات تركز على عملية البرمجيات والقياس. شارك في تأليف Mastering Software Project Management: أفضل الممارسات, أدوات وتقنيات مع مورالي ك. الهياكل. صاغ توم أيضًا الفصل بعنوان "التقدير السريع باستخدام المقاييس الوظيفية" في دليل IFPUG لتكنولوجيا المعلومات وقياس البرامج.

بمنح توم كاجلي لقب زميل فخري, يعترف IFPUG بالتزامه كمتطوع ومساهمته في نجاح IFPUG. تهانينا, توم!


مبروك للزملاء الفخريين:
بيير آلمين, تلمون بن كنعان وديفيد هيرون

بيير آلمين يستخدم Function Point منذ ذلك الحين 1984. منذ الأيام الأولى من IFPUG, كان بيير جزءًا من العديد من الأحداث المهمة - مثل كونه أحد أول CFPS في 1994. كان بيير هو الإدارة & رئيس لجنة إعداد التقارير - الفريق الذي أنشأ في الماضي منهج القياس وبرنامج الشهادات. كان بيير عضوًا في مجلس إدارة IFPUG المنتخب في 2014 وغادر اللوحة مرة أخرى 2017. اليوم, يخدم بيير IFPUG بشكل أساسي كممثل ISBSG في مجلس إدارة ISBSG ومنذ ذلك الحين 2019 كان رئيس ISBSG.

بالإضافة إلى رئاسته في ISBSG, يعتبر Pierre Almén جزءًا من العديد من الأنشطة الأخرى مثل رئيس فريق عمل IFPUG للحصول على شهادة مرجعية للمنظمات التي تقدم معيارًا مرجعيًا باستخدام بيانات IFPUG. سيكون لديك دائمًا متطوع رائع وملتزم في بيير ألمين. لذا ابحث عن أصول جديدة داخل IFPUG - من المحتمل أن ترى أن Pierre قد ساهم في نجاح تطوير هذه.

قدم بيير ألمين عددًا كبيرًا من العروض التقديمية حول العالم - مثل في 2006 أول مؤتمر IFPUG يحمل علامة ISMA - ISMA 1 في سان دييغو, نحن. - قدم بعنوان "الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية - قرار قائم على الحقائق?في السويد ، كان لسنوات عديدة عضوًا قياديًا نشطًا في السويدية – شبكة مقاييس البرمجيات التابعة لجمعية الحاسبات السويدية. في هذه الشبكة ، يقوم بترتيب لقاءات افتراضية وجهاً لوجه مع متحدثين مثيرين للاهتمام وينشر قيمة المقاييس - بما في ذلك السبب IFPUG FPA.

في وقت فراغ بيير, سوف يستمتع بالبلد & الطبيعة مع الجري عبر الريف والتجديف بالكاياك على طول الساحل السويدي الجميل.

تالمون بن Cnaan لديه خبرة طويلة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات في التعامل مع مقاييس البرمجيات, منهجيات ضمان الجودة والاختبار. لقد كان جزءًا نشطًا من لجنة معايير التحجيم غير الوظيفية (NFSSC) منذ البداية وهو لا يزال الرئيس, المساهمة في إنشاء وتطوير SNAP (البرمجيات غير وظيفية عملية التقييم) طريقة, كما “الجزء المقابل” من FPA وإيجاد طريقة لقياس وحجم NFR (متطلبات غير مجدية), تتحرك من IFPUG 2003 ورقة بيضاء تطلب تطوير GSC (مميزات النظام العام) مفهوم إلى فصل, مطابقة المفهوم القابل للقياس مع ISO / IEC 25010, المعيار الذي يحدد سمات جودة منتج البرنامج. كان من بين الأهداف التي تم تحقيقها تغطية سلسلة من السيناريوهات المتعلقة بما يسمى “صفر FP” مشاريع, التعامل مع بعض أنواع الصيانة التي لا تؤثر على الفراء (متطلبات المستخدم الوظيفية).

ساهم تالمون بنشاط في إنشاء CSP (شهادة ممارس SNAP) امتحان, ابتداء من 2013 هذا يتطور نحو المستوى التخصصي, يسمى CSS (أخصائي SNAP المعتمد) في الأشهر المقبلة. بدونه, لن يكون SNAP ما هو عليه اليوم: أصبح SNAP أحد معايير IEEE (2430-2019) وتتجه أيضًا نحو الحصول على شهادة ISO. لقد كان تفانيه وقيادته رائعين. حاليا, يساهم Talmon أيضًا في مجموعات IFPUG الأخرى, بهدف دمج ونشر SNAP أكثر فأكثر في جميع أنحاء مجتمع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات.

ديفيد هيرون هي سلطة في مجالات قياس الأداء, تحسين العملية, والحجم الوظيفي, من بين أمور أخرى. لعقود من الزمان كان خادمًا غير مشروط في IFPUG: محرر IFPUG MetricViews, رئيس لجنة التقارير الإدارية IFPUG, عضو لجنة أداء تقنية المعلومات, عضو لجنة الاتصالات والتسويق… لقد وضع ديفيد موضع التنفيذ في عدد كبير من الكيانات, من مختلف أنحاء العالم, استخدام المقاييس لمراقبة تأثير تكنولوجيا المعلومات على الأعمال, في تنظيم عقود الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية, وقد جلب اسم IFPUG ومفاهيمه وإضافة قيمة إلى أعلى المستويات. كان ديفيد أحد مؤسسي شركة David Consulting Group المرموقة وقد قدم خدمات الاستشارات والتدريب لعدد كبير من شركات تكنولوجيا المعلومات.

لقد كان مقدمًا في عدد كبير من مؤتمرات IFPUG, بموضوعات مثل “تحديد أفضل الممارسات منظمة IT الخاص بك,” “الحاجة إلى تدقيق برنامج القياس الخاص بك,” “تحديد دورة الحياة المبكرة لعوامل المخاطرة في جودة البرمجيات,” “الجانب الأخف من قياس البرامج,” مؤلف عدد كبير من المقالات ومؤلف مشارك لكتب مختلفة مثل “قياس عملية البرمجيات: دليل عملي للقياسات الوظيفية” أو “تحليل وظيفة نقطة: ممارسات القياس لمشاريع البرمجيات الناجحة.”

على حد قول أنطونيو فيري, كرسي IFPUG CMC السابق, لقد كان David Herron شخصًا غير مشروط يشاركه حكمته, الوقت والمعرفة في IFPUG, وأنا فخور بأنني تمكنت من العمل بالقرب من ديفيد خلال سنوات.” وبعبارة كريستين الخضراء, الرئيس IFPUG, "قابلت ديفيد هيرون لأول مرة في مؤتمري الأول في 1999. كان في ذلك الوقت هذا الرجل الخارق الذي كتب كتابًا عن نقاط الوظيفة. وبالتالي, أحضرت كتابي وحملته على التوقيع عليه. ما زلت أستخدم الكتاب – مؤخرًا عندما قمت بمراجعة FPA حيث لم نتمكن من العثور على إجابة في أي من iTIPS أو CPM.”


IFPUG 2021 CFPS الزملاء:
تهنئة الى السيدة. كريستين جرين والسيد. دانيال الفرنسية
أظهرت الزملاء CFPS المدرجة أدناه خبراتهم على 20 سنوات ويكون بمثابة منارة في ممارسات القياس الرائدة. ونحن نقدر تفانيهم وسلامة.

كريستين جرين هي خبيرة مشهورة جدًا في مجال تقدير الصناعة وهي واحدة من القلائل في العالم (فقط في الشمال) مع مزيج من الخبرة والشهادات في إدارة المشاريع, سكروم, مقياس & تحسين عملية العجاف. قبل تولي منصب رئيس IFPUG, خدمت كريستين IFPUG كمتطوعة غير مترددة لأكثر من 20 سنوات. قادت العديد من المبادرات الرئيسية داخل IFPUG, والتي تشمل الإصدار اليدوي من SNAP والتدريب على أداء تكنولوجيا المعلومات على سبيل المثال لا الحصر. تستفيد كريستين من مزيجها الفريد من المهارات والخبرة لتأمين تحسين العملية والاستفادة من أفضل الممارسات للمشاريع المنفذة. إنها صريحة جدًا في مشاركة معرفتها وكانت متحدثًا معروفًا للعديد من مؤتمرات IFPUG. كانت نشطة أيضًا في منظمات أخرى تتواصل مع IFPUG مثل ISBSG, Agile United و ICEAA.

دانيال فرينش هو حاليًا رئيس لجنة تحجيم البرامج الوظيفية. كان دان جزءًا من لجنة معايير التحجيم الوظيفي (FSSC), وسابقتها, لجنة البيئات الجديدة لما يقرب من عقدين. كما أنه يمثل IFPUG في العديد من المنتديات الصناعية الأخرى مثل ICEAA. لقد ساعد تفانيه وإسهاماته المتميزة في كتابة الأوراق البيضاء الخاصة بـ FP المستخدمين حقًا في اعتماد FPA على التقنيات الحديثة. على مر السنين, لقد كان شخصًا رئيسيًا قام بمراقبة لوحة إعلانات IFPUG لمعالجة الأسئلة المتعلقة بالعد.

من خلال منح كريستين جرين ودانييل فرينش جائزة 2021 تعيين زميل CFPS, IFPUG تعترف بالتزامهم كمتطوع ومساهمتهم في نجاح IFPUG. مبروك لهم.

 


تكريم خاص لآلان لورانس
في 2013, قررت IFPUG استثمار جزء من الإيرادات في الأسهم بدلاً من تخزينها في حساب مصرفي. لم يكن هذا الإجراء ممكناً لولا مشورة آلان لورانس. نظرًا لحقيقة أنه لم يتم الحفاظ على الإيرادات المستثمرة كما هي في سوق الأوراق المالية فحسب ، بل أدت أيضًا إلى زيادة كبيرة في استثماراتنا. لطالما قدم آلان لورانس نصيحة IFPUG التي كانت ثاقبة وستواصل القيام بذلك في المستقبل. لدعم المتطوعين في هذا المجال ، قررت IFPUG منح Alan Lawrence تكريمًا خاصًا في خريف 2020.

 

ربما يعجبك أيضا...

Update from the IFPUG President: Review of Past Honorees & Award Winners

Update from the IFPUG President, Christine Green

Dear Volunteers, Members, Partners, and friends of IFPUG,

2021 is now well on its way and I hope that most of us around the world can feel that Covid-19 restrictions have started to lift. I am hopeful that it will continue to be an excellent year for all of us.

The improvements that IFPUG recently made and all the things we are working on make me very excited for the future of IFPUG. I have several meetings every week with volunteers, and I cannot help being proud of and honored by all of the commitment to bring the best out to our members. Just look at the Coffee Talk events we have started and the virtual conferences we held in 2020 and earlier this year. These events have been so well received and attended. They are one of the reasons why the board elected the Partnership and Events Committee and especially Sushmitha Anantha—the Partnership and Events Committee’s chair—as the 2020 Committee and Volunteer of the Year.

Another volunteer who has contributed significantly over the last several years is Kriste Lawrence who left the Board at the end of October 2020. Kriste’s contributions started in 1998, and that means that she has used her time and knowledge for the good of IFPUG for more than 20 years. I hope you will join me in wishing Kriste the best of luck for the future.

Every year we announce IFPUG Honorary Fellows as volunteers who have contributed significantly to the IFPUG. In 2019, the honor went to Thomas Cagley Jr. He has dedicated time to be the IFPUG President twice, which is an achievement in itself. In addition, he is also one of our most significant contributors within the Agile community. He is surely one of the people to whom I would go. I have personally learned so much from Thomas Cagley Jr.

For 2020, the reward goes to three remarkable volunteers who provided unique contributions to IFPUG and continue to do so as I write. The Honorary Fellows for 2020 are David Herron, Talmon Ben-Cnaan, and Pierre Almén. Besides being a volunteer and past Committee Chair, David Herron has written books about Function Points that I still use today. I know that many of us have been fortunate enough to receive guidance from David in the past, and I hope we will work as well in the future. You cannot say SNAP without thinking about Talmon Ben-Cnaan. In 2019 he received the reward for volunteer of the year for his contribution to getting SNAP IEEE accredited. Still, his outstanding commitment to IFPUG as a volunteer was also why he was elected for this reward in 2020. Pierre Almén—a former IFPUG board member and current ISBSG President, has been part of many initiatives that have put IFPUG on the map worldwide. His contribution to the Nordic Countries and his contribution as an IFPUG representative at ISBSG is highly appreciated. For more information about our 2019 and 2020 Honorary Fellows, visit the IFPUG Honorary Fellows webpage.

In 2020 a special honor went to Alan Lawrence, who supports IFPUG in the investment of its reserve funds. Al Lawrence’s advice has significantly supported IFPUG standing healthy and strong from a financial perspective after the events in the spring of 2020 with Covid-19’s impact on the stock market.

IFPUG is also fortunate enough to have members who, in their way, are contributing significantly to IFPUG by promoting the organization. At the 2019 event in Brazil, I had the chance to talk with Denise Alencar, a Brazilian CFPS/CSP who has approached a university and conducted (pro bono) training for students over the course of a weekend. Denise spoke about approaching universities to improve the knowledge about IFPUG and FPA, and SNAP. She has also shared with us her own success story. I wanted to use this opportunity to capture this as a success story. I asked Sergio Brigido—our former Brazilian country representative and current board member, to talk with Denise to capture her story. This brilliant article was the result of this work. See more in the Spring 2021 release of MetricViews.

IFPUG would never be a great organization without its volunteers and members to spread the word about all the good things that can come out of using the IFPUG Standards. The great benefit is that when one volunteers, not only IFPUG benefits but all our members. I can say with evidence that I would not be where I am today without my volunteering for IFPUG—without all the knowledge I have gained by working with other IFPUG volunteers. The people and the skills of members and volunteers of IFPUG are outstanding, and I hope that 2021 will be the year during which all organizations or teams will ask for at least one team member to be related to IFPUG as a volunteer.


Register Now: Annual Membership Meeting
Oct. 4, 2021, 10:00 am ET

We hope to see you on October 4 for this year’s Annual Membership Meeting, which will be presented virtually. The meeting will highlight the Board election results, 2021 awards and honorees, and other key IFPUG news. Registration will open soon. Note – you must be logged in as a member to register.

Register


Volunteer of the Year 2020: Sushmitha Anantha
The IFPUG board has decided that Sushmitha Anantha is the IFPUG volunteer of the year for 2020.

The board, under the direction of the President Christine Green, wanted to increase the sharing among members and create events that would be Current & Relevant (IFPUG Goal 2019-2021) as well as attractive to IFPUG members and a new group of people. The result was that in the fall of 2019 the board decided to change strategy and move away from the name and purpose of the Conference & Education Committee to the Partnerships and Events Committee (PEC).

A strategic decision like this from the IFPUG board requires volunteer support and cooperation so that the strategy and goals are met. Sushmitha Anantha was a member of the Conference and Education Committee when she volunteered to be the chair of the new PEC.
With Sushmitha’s dedication and professionalism, the committee quickly had goals, procedures, contacts and was planning the first events (both the Knowledge Cafés that are short one-hour sessions and the first big conference with three speakers) all done virtually due to the pandemic.

There is no doubt that Sushmitha’s professionalism, ability to coordinate as well as her winning personality is what is making her (as the Chair of the PEC as well as all the events and partnership communication) the winning hand of IFPUG in 2020.

IFPUG would like to officially thank Sushmitha for her volunteering for IFPUG and dedication to serving IFPUG members and others with the planning of events and coordinating partnerships with other interest groups.


Committee of the Year 2020:
Partnerships & Events Committee

The Partnerships and Events Committee (PEC) started 2020 defining new Vision and Mission statements for the next years, reshaping its set of activities.

PEC started conversations about strategic partnerships with other associations like ISBSG.

As the restrictions caused by the Covid-19 pandemic arose, we strategized the occurrence of regular virtual events, such as the Webinar series “Knowledge Cafe.” The event was launched in June 2020, hosted by the world-known Tom Cagley in its inaugural session, which represented a major turnaround in the IFPUG strategy to continuously engage the measurement community.

Still with the restrictions caused by the pandemic, the IFPUG annual face-to-face ISMA conference and the other countrywide face-to-face conferences had to be reshaped as well. PEC then arranged in July 2020 a virtual conference being eligible for CEP, to enable IFPUG worldwide members to maintain their CFPS certification. The conference was a huge success, being attended by 330+ people.

During later months of 2020, PEC arranged three other “Knowledge Cafe” webinars with nearly 40+ people attending each event on average. One of them was delivered by Pierre Almén, president of ISBSG, an IFPUG long-term partner organization.


A Special Thank You to Kriste Lawrence
IFPUG would like to thank Kriste Lawrence for all her commitment to IFPUG in recognition of her leaving the IFPUG Board of Directors in 2020.

For more than 20 years, Kriste Lawrence has been a Contributor, Volunteer, and Board member of IFPUG and of course the President of IFPUG during 2013-2015.

During this period, she has made so many vital contributions to the success of IFPUG. Such as her membership of the Certification Committee that she chaired between 2004-2009. During this period, the Certification Committee automated the exam for the first time and introduced the Certification Extension Program. In 2009 Kriste was elected to the IFPUG Board and started as the Director of Conference & Education.

During this same period, IFPUG had its first conference outside of the US: ISMA Cinco in Brazil in 2010. The ISMA Cinco conference opened the door for many other IFPUG conferences held in the USA, Brazil, Spain, Italy, and India. After only one year on the board, Kriste Lawrence was elected to be part of the executives on the board. The first year as IFPUG Treasurer and was after this elected as Vice President in 2011. Kriste’s last years on the board were again as IFPUG Treasurer where she made sure that IFPUG stayed strong even in troubled waters.

Since 1994, Kriste has been actively using IFPUG Sizing Standards and was awarded the IFPUG CFPS Fellow in 2017 after being certified for 20 years. Her contribution to the learning and growing of IFPUG Function Point Analysis is long. One has even had an approved US pattern, “The Method of Pricing Application Software,” even though it is from 2005 it is still worth a reading today.
During her period as the President in 2013-2015, one of Kriste’s goals for IFPUG was to be “Be Adventurous, Creative and Open-Minded.” Kriste Lawrence has been adventurous, creative, and open-minded in her long period as a volunteer for IFPUG. Her open-minded approach has had many benefits for IFPUG and IFPUG members in the last 20 years.


A Special Thank You and Congratulations to
Tom Cagley, IFPUG Past President and Honorary Fellow
Tom Cagley has the distinction of having served twice as IFPUG President (2007-2009 and 2015-2017). His contribution to IFPUG has been immeasurable. Over the years, Tom has poured time and effort into the IFPUG organization as a committee member, board member and president. His experience as a measurement specialist (CFPS), consultant, speaker, author, coach, and agile guide has been instrumental in keeping IFPUG alive and up-to-date.

As a professional, Tom leads organizations and teams to unlock their inherent greatness. His goal is to help our industry evolve through agile adoption, adaptation, and measurement. Tom helps teams and organizations improve cycle time, productivity, quality, morale, and customer satisfaction, and then prove it. Tom believes change only occurs when you unlock the power of people and data. He has been an internationally respected blogger and podcaster for over 15 years focusing on software process and measurement. He co-authored Mastering Software Project Management: Best Practices, Tools and Techniques with Murali K. Chemuturi. Tom also penned the chapter titled “Agile Estimation Using Functional Metrics” in The IFPUG Guide to IT and Software Measurement.

By awarding Tom Cagley the Honorary Fellow designation, IFPUG recognizes his commitment as a volunteer and his contribution to the success of IFPUG. Congratulations, Tom!


Congratulations to Honorary Fellows:
Pierre Almén, Talmon Ben-Cnaan and David Herron

Pierre Almén has been using Function Point since 1984. Since the early days of IFPUG, Pierre has been part of many important events – such as being one of the first CFPS in 1994. Pierre has been the Management & Reporting Committee Chair – the team that in the past created the Measurement syllabus and certification program. Pierre was a member of the IFPUG Board of Directors elected in 2014 and left the board again in 2017. Today, Pierre serves IFPUG primarily as the ISBSG representative in the ISBSG Board of Directors and has since 2019 been the President of ISBSG.

In addition to his Presidency at ISBSG, Pierre Almén is part of many other activities such as the chair of the IFPUG taskforce for a Benchmark Certification of Organizations delivering Benchmark using IFPUG data. You will always have a great and committed volunteer in Pierre Almén. So look out for new assets within IFPUG – it is likely you will see that Pierre has contributed to the success of the development of these.

Pierre Almén has given a large number of presentations around the world – such as in 2006 the very first ISMA branded IFPUG conference – ISMA 1 in San Diego, U.S. – he presented with the title “Outsourcing – A Fact Based Decision?” In Sweden he has for many years been an active leading member of the Swedish – Software Metrics Network under the Swedish Computer Society. In this network he arranges both virtual and face-to-face meetings with interesting speakers and is spreading the value of Metrics – including of cause IFPUG FPA.

In Pierre’s spare time, he will enjoy the country & nature with cross-country running and kayaking along the beautiful Swedish coastline.

Talmon Ben-Cnaan has a long ICT experience dealing with software metrics, quality assurance and testing methodologies. He has been actively part of the Non-Functional Sizing Standards Committee (NFSSC) from the beginning and he is still the Chair, contributing to create and evolve the SNAP (Software Non-Functional Assessment Process) method, as the “counter-part” of FPA and find a way to measure and size NFRs (Non-Functional Requirements), moving from the IFPUG 2003 white paper asking to evolve the GSC (General System Characteristics) concept into a separated, measurable concept matching with ISO/IEC 25010, the standard defining the software product quality attributes. One of the goals achieved was to cover a series of scenarios related to the so-called “zero FP” projects, dealing with some maintenance types not impacting on FURs (Functional User Requirements).

Talmon was actively contributing to the creation of the CSP (Certified SNAP Practitioner) exam, beginning in 2013 that’s evolving toward the Specialist level, called CSS (Certified SNAP Specialist) in the coming months. Without him, SNAP would not be what it is today: SNAP became an IEEE standard (2430-2019) and is moving also towards the ISO certification. His dedication and leadership has been outstanding. Currently, Talmon is contributing also in other IFPUG groups, with the aim to integrate and diffuse SNAP more and more throughout the ICT community.

David Herron is an authority in the areas of performance measurement, process improvement, and functional size, among others. For decades he has been an IFPUG unconditional servant: IFPUG MetricViews editor, chair of the IFPUG Management Reporting Committee, member of the IT Performance Committee, member of the Communications and Marketing Committee… David has put in practice in a huge number of entities, from different parts of the world, the use of metrics to monitor the impact of IT on the business, in governing outsourcing contracts, and has brought the name of IFPUG and its concepts and add value to the highest levels. David was one of the founders of the prestigious company David Consulting Group and has provided consulting and coaching services for a high number of IT companies.

He has been presenter in a huge number of IFPUG conferences, with topics such as “Identifying Your IT Organization’s Best Practices,” “The Need for Auditing Your Measurement Program,” “Early Lifecycle Identification of Software Quality Risk Factors,” “The Lighter Side of Software Measurement,” author of a high number of articles and co-author of different books such as “Measuring the Software Process: A Practical Guide to Functional Measurements” or “Function Point Analysis: Measurement Practices for Successful Software Projects.”

In the words of Antonio Ferre, former IFPUG CMC chair, “David Herron has been an unconditional person sharing its wisdom, time and knowledge in IFPUG, and I am proud to have been able to work close to David during years.” In words of Christine Green, IFPUG President, “I met David Herron for the first time at my first conference in 1999. He was at that time this super guy that had written the book about Function Points. So, I brought my book and got him to sign it. I still use the book – recently when I did a review of an FPA where we could not find an answer in any of the iTIPS or CPM.”


IFPUG 2021 CFPS Fellows:
Congratulations to Ms. Christine Green and Mr. Daniel French
The CFPS Fellows listed below have shown their expertise over 20 years and act as a beacon in leading measurement practices. We appreciate their dedication and integrity.

Christine Green is a very well-known industry Estimation expert and is one of the very few in the world (only in Nordic) with the combination of experience and certifications within Project Management, Scrum, Scale & Lean Process Improvement. Before taking on as the President of IFPUG, Christine has served IFPUG as an undeterred volunteer for more than 20 years. She has led multiple key initiatives within IFPUG, which include the SNAP manual release and IT Performance training to name a few. Christine leverages her unique combination of skills and experience to secure process improvement and utilize best practices for the projects undertaken. She is very forthcoming in sharing her knowledge and has been a known speaker for many IFPUG conferences. She has been also active in other organizations liaising with IFPUG such as ISBSG, Agile United and ICEAA.

Daniel French is the currently the Chairperson for the Functional Software Sizing Committee. Dan has been part of the Functional Sizing Standards Committee (FSSC), and its predecessor, the New Environments Committee for almost two decades. He also represents IFPUG in various other industry forums like ICEAA. His dedication and outstanding contributions to writing FP white papers has really helped the users to adopt FPA to newer technologies. Over the years, he has been a key person who monitored the IFPUG bulletin board to address counting related questions.

By awarding Christine Green and Daniel French the 2021 CFPS Fellow designation, IFPUG is recognizing their commitment as a volunteer and their contribution to the success of IFPUG. Congratulations to them.

 


Special Honor to Alan Lawrence
In 2013, IFPUG decided to invest part of the revenue in stocks instead of having it stored in a bank account. This action would not have been possible without the advice of Alan Lawrence. Due to the fact that not only have the revenue invested been kept intact in the stock market but generated a significant plus on our investments. Alan Lawrence has always given IFPUG advice that has been insightful and will continue to do this in the future. For his volunteer support on this area IFPUG decided to award Alan Lawrence for a Special honor in the fall of 2020.

 

You may also like...