40 年功能點: 過去, 當下, 未來

由路易斯·布永

只是 40 年前十月 1979, 博士. 艾倫·阿爾布雷希特提出了第一時間的技術選擇相匹配的軟件系統的功能. 他的技術是採用, 成為國際標準, 和鼓舞其他幾個技術和更. 本文展示了過去, 當前和 (可能) 功能點分析的未來貢獻.

過去: 起源, 動機和理由

在20世紀70年代, 代碼行 (交通線) 被不正當地用於選型軟件系統 (今天仍是諸如軍事和實時和汽車系統的一些功能區, 僅舉幾個) 它導致了什麼卡珀斯·瓊斯貼上了“生產率悖論” [1]: 編寫更交通線並不意味著一定是更有效率......的編程風格, 某種編程語言的表現力, 計數交通線規則 (物理或邏輯, 帶/不帶註釋行...) 創建項目了巨大的變化 (是, 項目!) 估計. 因為當時, 我們只有大型機, 不是PC或微型計算機. 從而, 該 (軟件) 部署產品的努力是最整個項目工作量和軟件功能的旨在為軟件項目的主要交付. 作為結果, 很多年了 (仍然在許多合同), 功能點 (心室肌) 是 (並) 錯意為“項目規模”,而他們只表達產品功能尺寸. 無論如何, 阿爾布雷希特的目標是克服“生產率悖論”,並找到一種方法來規範從企業的角度計算生產率 [2]. 偉大的想法是根據他的東西的技術與技術無關: 流程和數據. 從而, 一個FP計算 (及相關產品的功能尺寸) 從一組功能性用戶需求的分析衍生 (皮草) 雖然是採用的技術和組織的風格相同, 而努力, 持續時間和成本/價格是, 當然, 根據這樣的元件變. 提出了多年來最典型的例子就是看FP作為平方米用於測量平坦的“大小”: 平方米的數量可以是兩個單位同樣在兩個不同的地方, 但他們建造的時間可能有所不同 (e.g. 扁平可與磚建造或預製), 以及其生產成本和商業價值 (一台在曼哈頓, 紐約, 按照成本每平方米超過一個又一個在另一個地方); 成本不值.

第一篇論文, 過時的 1979, 構成基礎,為這樣一個目標, 在其標題中所述 (“測量應用開發的生產力”). 它代表著大爆炸的估計, 試圖從特別的功能性分析摘錄的輸入/輸出/查詢和數據,因為這樣的新的數量可能已經導出編程之前和之後不, 作為一個LOC計數做. 既然你不能用精確一定程度預見交通線的數量你的球隊將在明天產生......太多的變化!

有很多優點,但也有一些懸而未決的問題: 項目工作量之間的相關性 (人/天) 和產品功能大小 (在FP) 沒那麼高, 和數值調整參數 (VAF) 為了提高在一個線性回歸分析這種關係和R2值被引入. VAF最初計算的 10 常規系統特性 (GSC中) 具有±25%的在所述第一可變性 1979 紙, 放大到 14 GSC中在第二和最後的紙, 過時的 1983 [3], 與最初的“未調整的”FP值的±35%的變異性. VAF是, 因此, 第一種方式間接“大小”非功能性需求的貢獻 (NFRs的), 無論是在產品和項目層面. 從艾倫阿爾布雷希該第二和最終紙中所述的最終FPA結構, 分裂初始主數據功能型成ILF和EIF, 並指出最終的加權系統 (在當前IFPUG CPM v4.3.1版本仍然有效, 過時的 2010 [4]) 從那時候開始. 從而, 它可以比較 - 從功能角度看上漿- 今天實現了一個又一個公佈年前為基準目的的軟件產品.

在 1987, IFPUG出生,並在其手中阿爾布雷希特的技術,管理和發展舉行. 在隨後的幾年, 幾種技術搬離阿爾布雷希特的思路走, 而短短成為ISO標準, 如圖. 1:

圖. 1: ISO FSM標準 (與點藍線)

圖. 1: ISO FSM標準 (與點藍線)

他們是 (按出場順序): 馬克 - II (1988), NESMA FPA (1990), FISMA (199X) 和宇宙 (1998), 有很多輕微變種的 (這裡 [5] 其中一些名單).

FPA的第一用途是確定軟件產品的功能尺寸估計和基準測試,並 - 簡化- 作為在ICT合同支付合同單位.

在 1998, ISO下開始與所謂的功能規模測量共同原則的“14143”的標籤一個家庭的標準的建立 (FSM) 方法, 說明以明確的方式,這種方法尺寸產品 (不是一個項目) 和從產品毛皮僅移動時, 這排除了最初包括調節因子如VAF相關ISO版本 [6]. 基本原理? 這樣的“調整/校準”的因素從NFRs的來了, 從而, 超出範圍用於FSM方法. 作為證據: ISO 20926:2003 是為IFPUG CPM 4.1版ISO標準“未調整。”4.x版本 - 從 1999 上- 精緻版的定義和基本概念, 尤其是“用戶”和“邊界”。V4.3版本 (2010) 明確下降VAF從規範文本 (也是在ISO / IEC 20926:2009) 並保持它在附錄C的歷史目的.

同時, 因為毛皮和NFRs的需要以並行的方式來處理, 軟件非功能性評估程序 (SNAP) 項目開工 2007, 釋放V1.0在 2011 [7], 新, 第一個非功能規模測量 (NFSM) 方法, 從產品的軟件質量ISO標準移動 (9126 之前 [8], 並演變成目前的 25010:2011 標準 [9]) 而試圖以補充功能規模盡可能. 圖. 2 幫助確定合適的項目範圍, 三種類型的需求:

圖. 2: 三種需求 (從“ABC”的架構)

圖. 2: 三種需求 (從“ABC”的架構)

這些信息寫在不同的方式比CPM V4.1. 我在一個明確規定 2012 本文中,我寫了 MetricViews [10], 在'ABC'模式; 這種分類法中也有使用 2015 論文的合著寫的IFPUG / COSMIC更好的表達了一個NFRs的分類 [11]. 這種分類是任何項目的開始階段至關重要的正確分析和他們一個好的標杆分析比較. 圖. 3 總結了用戶要求,可以部署和拆分, 在更廣泛的情況下, 成三大塊: 產品皮草 (一個), NFRs的產品 (乙) 和項目的限制/需求 (C).

圖. 3: 美國廣播公司架構 [10]

圖. 3: 美國廣播公司架構 [10]

從用戶需求到最終整個項目工作量和成本 – 在“ABC”模式 [10] 在 1997 ISBSG (isbsg.org) 出生和所有最活躍的軟件度量協會 (形狀記憶合金) 遵循這一基準方案. 該 2019 發布 [12] 包括超過 9,000 項目, 使用IFPUG和宇宙FPA方法大多大小. 另一種互補的標準是ISO / IEC 14143-5:2004 [13], 其中提出的標準來定義“功能結構域”和允許軟件系統與由需求類型相似的特性和工作量分佈之間的比較合理 (ABC). 它沒有任何意義與橘子進行比較蘋果...

 

本: 這是怎麼回事?

FSM方法信息中使用漫射 & 通信技術 (ICT) 合同, 在一些國家更高的濃度 (e.g. 意大利, 巴西, 波蘭, 印度), 並代表定量依據上漿產品功能大小,並且可以在基準分析有助於確定哪些可能是 (大約) 在一個項目中的非功能性的努力, 如圖4所示:

圖. 4: 由需求類型工作量分佈 (ABC) 每功能域: 一個例子

圖. 4: 由需求類型工作量分佈 (ABC) 每功能域: 一個例子

由需求類型工作量分佈的一個例子 (ABC) 每個功能域分裂的是無功能根據ABC模式. A B型要求可以實現和IT專家部署 (e.g. 數據庫管理員, 可用性專家...) 通常成本低於其他專業 (e.g. 項目/服務經理, 測量專家, 質量保證的人...) 運行一個C型要求,但一個多專業 (e.g. 分析師/程序員) 運行的A型的要求. 圖. 5 顯示了項目工作的典型分佈按需求類型和每人/每天;成本兩個相對的金字塔為各種專業 [14].

圖. 5: 按需求類型和成本/人天的工作量分佈 (根據ABC模式)

按需求類型和成本/人天的工作量分佈 (根據ABC模式). 再次, 汲取教訓 40 多年的經驗,有助於更好地界定 (和細化) 有關應用程序的FPA的範圍原則和規則. 該'123'模式是另一分類 [15] 為說明這樣的要求可以存在於項目的某一階段 (1: 開發, 2: 行動, 3: SVC, 保養).

圖. 6: 用“ABC”模式中的“123”模式聯合

從而, 在OPS相的軟件用於, 不產生/變更, 並產生一個“零FP”計數, 以及當改變請求將只包括B型的要求 (e.g. 用於糾正/完成式維護, 在ISO / IEC規定 14764:2006 標準 [16], 還列舉了在CPM v4.3.1 – 部分 3, 章節 4, 網頁 20-21). 即使對毛皮或NFR已經創造了什麼定義和標準, 解釋和擴散隨著時間的推移, 仍然有合同的做法和企業使用測量的至少一個單元文化的債務 (計量單位) 上漿A型的要求 (心室肌, 無論何種) 與計量單位上漿B型的要求共同 (e.g. 從ISO / IEC IFPUG SNAP點或措施 25023 [17], 以及C型的活動,完成範圍估計所需的範圍界定項目的整個努力. 大小只有當所有的要求,為三 (ABC) 類型, 它可以減少“範圍蔓延,“雖然還有什麼的FP大小和它做什麼不是一個歷史的誤解. 但是,就足以知道在FSM方法, 其是其基本功能組件 (BFCS) 對於包括 (或不) 這樣的活動或活動.

最後但並非最不重要的, FP和自動化. 博士. 阿爾布雷希創建了一個“設計措施”,用於允許在生命週期的早期階段的估計. 今天的一些工具, 後 40 年份, 將得到的FP (無論何種) 解析軟件代碼或某種形式的FUR符號的工作. 一些 (常識) 觀察與思考: 如果它是恭敬的四個標準的自動化是非常有用的: 快點, 更準確的, 更及時,成本更低. 如果我們需要大小的新FUR, 一種工具解析代碼 (在新的ISO規定 19515 標配自動FP [18]) 將是無用的,昂貴的. 要么, 使用工具假定一些UML符號作為輸入,將意味著更多的工時 (及相關費用) 用於翻譯人為本的要求編寫成一種元語言格式. 也, 企業需要仔細分析投資對這樣的選擇回報(小號) 根據四個上述標準. 迅速建立在時間和精力是至關重要的資產可能,它是由一個人CFPS和計量單位在範圍核實前提下,是確定是相同的基準草案. 除此以外, 自動化可能成為危險的或難以管理.

 

未來: 我們可以期待?

正如許多人會說, 未來是現在...但我們可以從FPA預計在不久的將來? FPA具有較強的基礎,它是獨立於技術; 我們從過去的教訓是,下一個步驟應該是:

  • 一個更好,更實惠的用戶需求 (UR) 管理, 在項目的早期階段範圍界定和測量: 這是應該取得的主要和首要目標.
  • FPA的採用新技術, 通過從FPA基本規則正確的解釋 1979/84. 我們還不能測量,並通過FPA新技術,例如雲計算大小 [19], 物聯網 (物聯網) [20], 人工智能與任何新技術未來的幾年會帶給我們.

我們最好的辦法是不創造新的東西, 但深入分析我們當前的流程和數據,以確定新的和不同的方式來設計的軟件系統,仍然與大小FPA皮草!

我們打算繼續使用和改進功能 測量.” (艾倫·阿爾布雷希特, 十月 1979)

 

參考

  1. 瓊斯, C。, 什麼是功能點? SPR網站, 網址: http://tiny.cc/tgur7y
  2. 阿爾布雷希特一. J., “測量應用程序的開發效率” 在PROC. 聯合SHARE, 指南, 和IBM應用開發 , 1979, PP. 83-92. http://tiny.cc/2ywacz
  3. 阿爾布雷希特一. Ĵ. & 加夫尼Ĵ. E., “軟件功能, 的代碼源極線, 和發力預測: 軟件科學驗證,” IEEE跨. 軟件工程。, 第一卷. 9, 沒有. 6, 十一月 1983, PP. 639-647. http://tiny.cc/1zwacz
  4. IFPUG, 功能點計算實踐手冊 (CPM), 發布 4.3.1, 一月 2010, 網址: ifpug.org
  5. Lother M., 杜姆克R., 點度量: 比較與分析“, 在: 目前在軟件度量趨勢, 沙克爾出版, 2001, pp.228-267
  6. ISO / IEC, 國際標準 14143-1 – 信息技術 – 軟件度量 – 功能尺寸測量 – 部分 1: 概念定義, 二月 2007
  7. IFPUG, 軟件非功能性評估程序 (SNAP) 評估實用手冊 (APM), 版 1.0, 九月 2011, 網址: ifpug.org
  8. ISO / IEC, IS 9126-1:2001 – 軟件工程 – 產品質量 – 部分 1: 質量模型, 國際標準化組織, 2001
  9. ISO / IEC, IS 25010:2011 -系統和軟件工程的系統和軟件的質量要求和評價 (廣場)-系統和軟件質量模型, 國際標準化組織, 遊行 2011
  10. 布永L., 下一個前沿: 測量和評估非功能性生產力, MetricViews, 八月 2012, 網址:https://www.ifpug.org/Metric%20Views/MVBuglione.pdf
  11. COSMIC / IFPUG, 對於非功能性需求和項目需求的術語詞彙軟件項目績效評估使用, 衡量和評估, V1.0, 九月 2015
  12. ISBSG, d&Ë (發展 & 增強) 知識庫, R2019, 網址:isbsg.org
  13. ISO / IEC, 技術報告 14143-5 – 信息技術 – 軟件度量 – 功能尺寸測量 – 部分 5: 判定的功能域與功能尺寸測量使用, 2004 (R2019)
  14. 布永L., 如何處理好統一的,可衡量的項目: 重點類型和需求, ZeroUnoWeb, 可以 3 2019, 網址: http://tiny.cc/y1tr7y
  15. 布永L., 解讀DevOps的測量以及 (和最佳) 項目, PMExpo2017, 介紹, 十月 2017, 網址:https://www.pmexpo.it/2017/programma/009tk
  16. ISO / IEC, 國際標準 14764:2006 - 軟件工程 - 軟件生命週期過程 – 保養, 2006
  17. ISO / IEC, 國際標準 25023:2016 – 系統和軟件工程 – 系統和軟件質量要求和評價 (廣場) – 系統和軟件產品質量的測量, 六月 2016
  18. ISO / IEC, 國際標準 19515:2019 – 信息技術 – 對象管理組自動化功能點 (法新社), 1.0, 可以 2019
  19. 伍德沃德S., 功能點分析明確了在世界多雲, Metricas 2012, 聖保羅 (巴西), 十一月 28-29 2012, 網址:http://www.bfpug.com.br/metricas2012/woodward.pdf
  20. Cagley T., 功能點和IOT, 或如何我的廚房是監視我!, IFPUG ISMA17, 班加羅爾 (印度), 遊行 8, 2019

關於作者

路易吉Buglione是會議/教育和了Gruppo個用戶功能的總統意大利點的IFPUG主任 – 意大利軟件度量協會 (GUFPI-ISMA) (www.gufpi-isma.org). 他的工作是工程了Ing一個測量和過程改進專家. 天道酬勤. SpA公司在羅馬, 意大利和巴黎高等德TECHNOLOGIE高等副教授 (ETS) - 魁北克大學, 加拿大. 他取得了多項認證, 包括IFPUG CFPS, CSP, CSMS, 而關於軟件度量COSMIC CCFL. 他是在SW /服務測量的國際會議上發表演講, 工藝改進和質量,是國際和國內技術協會等問題上積極部分. 他獲得了博士學位. 在MIS和學位暨經濟學以優異成績. 路易吉可以達到 luigi.buglione@eng.it.

您可能還喜歡...

40 Years of Function Points: Past, Present, Future

By Luigi Buglione

Just 40 years ago in October 1979, Dr. Allan Albrecht proposed for the first time a technique for sizing the functionality of a software system. His technique was adopted, became an international standard, and inspired several other techniques and more. This paper shows the past, present and (possible) future contributions of Function Point Analysis.

The PAST: Origins, Motivation and Rationale

In the 1970s, Lines of Code (LOCs) were improperly used for sizing software systems (and still are today in some functional domains such as the military and real-time and automotive systems, just to name a few) and it led to what Capers Jones labelled the “productivity paradox” [1]: writing more LOCs does not mean to necessarily be more productive…the programming style, the expressivity of a certain programming language, the rule for counting LOCs (physical or logical, with/without commented lines…) created a huge variability in project (yes, project!) estimation. Because at that time, we only had mainframes, not PCs or mini-computers. Thus, the (software) product effort for deploying was most of the overall project effort and software functionalities were intended as the main deliverable of a software project. As a consequence, for many years (and still in many contracts), Function Points (FPs) were (and are) wrongly intended as the “project size” while they only express the product functional size. Anyway, Albrecht’s goal was to overcome the “productivity paradox” and find a way to normalize productivity calculations from a business perspective [2]. The great idea was to base his technique on something technology-independent: processes and data. Thus, an FP calculation (and related product functional size) derived from the analysis of a set of Functional User Requirements (FURs) is the same despite the technology and organizational style adopted, while effort, duration and cost/price are, of course, variable according to such elements. The typical example proposed over the years was to look at FP as square meters for measuring the “size” of a flat: the number of square meters can be the same for two flats in two different places, but the time for building them can differ (e.g. a flat can be built with bricks or be prefabricated), as well as their production costs and commercial value (a flat in Manhattan, New York, shall cost more per square meter than another one in another place); cost is not value.

The first paper, dated 1979, posed foundations for such a goal, as stated in its title (“Measuring application development productivity”). It represented a big-bang for estimations, trying to excerpt inputs/outputs/queries and data from a functional analysis in particular because such a new number could have been derived before programming and not later, as did with a LOC count. Since you cannot foresee with a certain level of precision the number of LOCs your team will produce tomorrow…too much variability!

There are many advantages but also some open issues: the correlation between the project effort (man/days) and the product functional size (in FP) was not so high, and a Value Adjustment Factor (VAF) was introduced in order to improve such a relationship and the R2 value in a linear regression analysis. VAF was initially calculated on 10 General System Characteristics (GSCs) with a variability of ±25% in the first 1979 paper, enlarged to 14 GSCs in the second and final paper, dated 1983 [3], with a ±35% variability on the initial “unadjusted” FP value. VAF was, therefore, the first way to indirectly “size” the contribution of Non-Functional Requirements (NFRs), both at the product as well as the project level. This second and final paper from Allan Albrecht stated the final FPA structure, splitting the initial MASTER DATA function type into ILF and EIF, and stated the final weighting system (as still valid in the current IFPUG CPM v4.3.1 version, dated 2010 [4]) from that time. Thus, it’s possible to compare -from a functional sizing viewpoint- a software product realized today with another one released years ago for benchmarking purposes.

In 1987, IFPUG was born and held in its hands the management and evolution of Albrecht’s technique. In the following years, several techniques moved away from Albrecht’s ideas, and just a few became ISO standards, as shown in Fig. 1:

Fig. 1: ISO FSM Standards (with dotted blue lines)

Fig. 1: ISO FSM Standards (with dotted blue lines)

They are (in order of appearance): Mark-II (1988), NESMA FPA (1990), FISMA (199x) and COSMIC (1998), with a lot of minor variants (here [5] a list of some of them).

First usages of FPA were to determine the functional size of software products for estimation and benchmarking purposes and -to simplify- as a contractual unit for payment in an ICT contract.

In 1998, ISO started the creation of a family of standards under the “14143” label with common principles for the so-called Functional Sizing Measurement (FSM) methods, stating in a clear way that such methods sized a product (not a project) and only when moving from product FURs, which excluded related ISO versions that initially included adjustment factors such as VAF [6]. The rationale? Such “adjustment/calibration” factors came from NFRs, thus, are out of scope for an FSM method. As evidence: ISO 20926:2003 was the ISO standard for IFPUG CPM v4.1 “unadjusted.” Versions 4.x -from 1999 on- refined version definitions and basic concepts, in particular “user” and “boundary.” Version v4.3 (2010) definitively dropped VAF from the normative text (also in ISO/IEC 20926:2009) and maintained it for historical purposes in Appendix C.

In the meantime, since FURs and NFRs need to be treated in a parallel way, the Software Non-Functional Assessment Process (SNAP) project started in 2007, releasing v1.0 in 2011 [7], for a new, first Non-Functional Sizing Measurement (NFSM) method, which moved from the ISO standard on product software quality (9126 before [8], and evolved into the current 25010:2011 standard [9]) while trying to complement the functional sizing as much as possible. Fig. 2 helps to determine the right project scope, with three kinds of requirements:

Fig. 2: Three kinds of requirements (from the ‘ABC’ schema)

Fig. 2: Three kinds of requirements (from the ‘ABC’ schema)

The information was written in different manner than CPM v4.1. I clearly stated in a 2012 paper I wrote for MetricViews [10], The ‘ABC’ Schema; such taxonomy was also used in a 2015 paper co-written by IFPUG/COSMIC for better expressing a taxonomy for NFRs [11]. This classification is critical from the beginning of any project for properly analysing and comparing them with a good benchmarking analysis. Fig. 3 summarizes how a user requirement could be deployed and split, in the wider case, into three chunks: product FURs (A), product NFRs (B) and project constraints/requirements (C).

Fig. 3: The ABC Schema [10]

Fig. 3: The ABC Schema [10]

From user requirements to the final overall project effort and costs – The “ABC” schema [10] in 1997 ISBSG (isbsg.org) was born and all of the most active Software Measurement Associations (SMAs) adhered to this benchmarking initiative. The 2019 release [12] includes more than 9,000 projects, mostly sized using the IFPUG and COSMIC FPA methods. Another complementary norm was the ISO/IEC 14143-5:2004 [13], which proposes criteria for defining “functional domains” and allows a reasonable comparison among software systems with similar characteristics and effort distribution by requirement types (ABC). It does not make sense to compare apples with oranges…

 

The PRESENT: What’s going on?

FSM methods are diffusely used in Information & Communication Technology (ICT) contracts, with a higher concentration in some countries (e.g. Italy, Brazil, Poland, India), and represent a quantitative basis for sizing the product functional size and can help in benchmarking analysis to determine which could be (approximately) the non-functional effort in a project, as shown in Fig.4:

Fig. 4: Effort distribution by requirement type (ABC) per functional domain: an example

Fig. 4: Effort distribution by requirement type (ABC) per functional domain: an example

An example of effort distribution by requirement type (ABC) per functional domain is splitting what is non-functional according to the ABC schema. A B-type requirement can be realized and deployed by an IT specialist (e.g. a database administrator, usability expert…) that typically costs less than another professional (e.g. a project/service manager, a measurement specialist, a quality assurance person…) running a C-type requirement but more than a professional (e.g. an analyst/programmer) running an A-type requirement. Fig. 5 shows the two opposite pyramids for a typical distribution of project effort by requirement type and cost per man/day for each kind of professional [14].

Fig. 5: Effort distribution by requirement type and cost/man-day (according to the ABC schema)

Effort distribution by requirement type and cost/man-day (according to the ABC schema). Again, lessons learned from 40 years of experience helped to better define (and refine) principles and rules about FPA’s scope of application. The ‘123’ schema is another classification [15] for stating which kind of requirements can be present in a certain phase of a project (1: Dev, 2: Ops, 3: Svc, Maintenance).

Fig. 6: The ‘123’ schema jointly with the ‘ABC’ schema

Thus, in the OPS phase a software is used, not produced/changed, and generates a “zero FP” count, as well as when a change request will include only B-type requirements (e.g. for a corrective/perfective maintenance, as stated in ISO/IEC 14764:2006 standard [16], also cited in CPM v4.3.1 – part 3, chapter 4, pages 20-21). Even if definitions and criteria about what FUR or NFR has been created, explained and diffused over time, there is still a cultural debt in contractual practices and business to use at least one Unit of Measure (UoM) for sizing A-type requirements (FPs, whatever kind) jointly with the UoM for sizing B-type requirements (e.g. with IFPUG SNAP points or measures from ISO/IEC 25023 [17], as well as the C-type activities that complete the scope for estimating the whole effort needed for scoping a project. Only when sizing all of the requirements for the three (ABC) types, it’s possible to reduce the “scope creep,” while there is still an historical misconception about what an FP sizes and what it does not. But it would be sufficient to know in an FSM method, which are its Base Functional Components (BFCs) for including (or not) such an activity or activities.

Last but not least, FP and automation. Dr. Albrecht created a “design measure” for allowing an estimate in the early phases of a lifecycle. Some tools today, after 40 years, would derive FPs (whatever kind) parsing software code or working on some forms of FUR notations. Some (common-sense) observations and thoughts: automation is useful if it’s respectful of four criteria: faster, more accurate, more timely and lower in cost. If we need to size a new FUR, a tool parsing code (as stated in the new ISO 19515 standard on Automated FP [18]) would be useless and costly. Or, using a tool assuming some UML notations as inputs would imply more man-hours (and related costs) for translating a human-based written requirement into a meta-language format. Also, an organization needs to carefully analyse the return on investment for such choice(s) according to the four above mentioned criteria. Quickly creating a draft baseline in which time and effort are critical assets could be ok under the preconditions that it is verified by a human CFPS and that the UoM under scope are the same. Otherwise, automation could become risky or difficult to manage.

 

The FUTURE: What can we expect?

As many people would say, the future is now…but what can we expect from FPA in the near future? FPA has strong foundations and it is technology independent; what we have learned from the past is that the next steps should be:

  • A better and more affordable User Requirements (UR) management, scoping and measurement during the early phases of a project: this is the main and primary goal that should be achieved.
  • Adoption of FPA to new technologies, through the proper interpretation of FPA basic rules from 1979/84. We cannot yet measure and size through FPA new technologies such as cloud computing [19], Internet of Things (IoT) [20], artificial intelligence and any new tech the upcoming years will bring us.

Our best bet is not to invent something new, but to deeply analyse our current processes and data to determine new and different ways to engineer a software system and still size a FUR with FPA!

We intend to continue using and improving the function value measurement.” (Allan Albrecht, October 1979)

 

References

  1. Jones, C., What Are Function Points? SPR website, URL: http://tiny.cc/tgur7y
  2. Albrecht A. J., “Measuring application development productivity” in Proc. Joint SHARE, GUIDE, and IBM Application Development , 1979, pp. 83-92. http://tiny.cc/2ywacz
  3. Albrecht A. J. & Gaffney J. E., “Software function, source lines of code, and development effort prediction: A software science validation,” IEEE Trans. Software Eng., vol. 9, no. 6, November 1983, pp. 639-647. http://tiny.cc/1zwacz
  4. IFPUG, Function Point Counting Practice Manual (CPM), release 4.3.1, January 2010, URL: ifpug.org
  5. Lother M., Dumke R., Points-Metrics: Comparisons and Analysis”, in: Current Trends in Software Measurement, Shaker Publishing, 2001, pp.228-267
  6. ISO/IEC, International Standard 14143-1 – Information Technology – Software Measurement – Functional Size Measurement – Part 1: definition of concepts, February 2007
  7. IFPUG, Software Non-functional Assessment Process (SNAP) Assessment Practice Manual (APM), version 1.0, September 2011, URL: ifpug.org
  8. ISO/IEC, IS 9126-1:2001 – Software Engineering – Product Quality – Part 1: Quality Model, International Organization for Standardization, 2001
  9. ISO/IEC, IS 25010:2011 -Systems and software engineering-Systems and software Quality Requirements and Evaluation (SQuaRE)-System and software quality models, International Organization for Standardization, March 2011
  10. Buglione L., The Next Frontier: Measuring and Evaluating the NonFunctional Productivity, MetricViews, August 2012, URL:https://www.ifpug.org/Metric%20Views/MVBuglione.pdf
  11. COSMIC/IFPUG, Glossary of terms for Non-Functional Requirements and Project Requirements used in software project performance measurement, benchmarking and estimating, v1.0, September 2015
  12. ISBSG, D&E (Development & Enhancement) repository, R2019, URL:isbsg.org
  13. ISO/IEC, Technical Report 14143-5 – Information Technology – Software Measurement – Functional Size Measurement – Part 5: determination of functional domains for use with functional size measurement, 2004 (R2019)
  14. Buglione L., Come gestire progetti uniformi e misurabili: focus su tipologie e requisiti, ZeroUnoWeb, May 3 2019, URL: http://tiny.cc/y1tr7y
  15. Buglione L., Interpretare DevOps per misurare bene (e meglio) i progetti, PMExpo2017, Presentation, October 2017, URL:https://www.pmexpo.it/2017/programma/009tk
  16. ISO/IEC, International Standard 14764:2006 – Software Engineering – Software Life Cycle Processes – Maintenance, 2006
  17. ISO/IEC, International Standard 25023:2016 – Systems and software engineering – Systems and software Quality Requirements and Evaluation (SQuaRE) – Measurement of system and software product quality, June 2016
  18. ISO/IEC, International Standard 19515:2019 – Information technology – Object Management Group Automated Function Points (AFP), 1.0, May 2019
  19. Woodward S., Function Point Analysis Clarifies in a Cloudy world, Metricas 2012, Sao Paulo (Brazil), Nov 28-29 2012, URL:http://www.bfpug.com.br/metricas2012/woodward.pdf
  20. Cagley T., Function Points and IOT, or How My Kitchen Is Spying On Me!, IFPUG ISMA17, Bangalore (India), March 8, 2019

 

About the Author

Luigi Buglione is the IFPUG Director for Conference/Education and President of the Gruppo Utenti Function Point Italia – Italian Software Metrics Association (GUFPI-ISMA) (www.gufpi-isma.org). He works as a Measurement and Process Improvement Specialist at Engineering Ing. Inf. SpA in Rome, Italy and Associate Professor at the École de Technologie Supérieure (ETS) – Université du Québec, Canada. He achieved several certifications, including IFPUG CFPS, CSP, CSMS, and COSMIC CCFL about Software Measurement. He is a regular speaker at international conferences on Sw/Service Measurement, Process Improvement and Quality and is actively part of International and National Technical Associations on such issues. He received a Ph.D. in MIS and a degree cum laude in Economics. Luigi can be reached at luigi.buglione@eng.it.

You may also like...